Tags

, , ,

Hi there,

I’ve been thinking about doing this review for a while, but I keep changing my mind. One day I love this foundation, then the next I hate it and the cycle continues. However, when I was looking for reviews I could find nothing other than what had been sent out as PR samples and we all know how those reviews go…Yes, you guessed it everyone loves it and no-one mentioned the shade selection, which I found impossible to work out.

I’ve been using this foundation for a while now so I thought I would share my thoughts and whether I would re-purchase it again.

After weeks of research I was only able to find my shade by sheer luck while I was on holiday. Luckily (or unluckily for me!) I came across a Delilah stockists, so finally armed with the information I ended up buying the shade Buttermilk.

Buttermilk (L) v B20 light beige (R)

This foundation has a lovely consistency and feels very lightweight on the skin. The first time I wore it my skin seemed to glow and I actually got a compliment from my Husband (shock horror) so I thought that I was on to a definite winner, even though the shade selection was lighter than I’m used to. However, the next time I used it I struggled to get enough coverage over my nose and the foundation seemed to sit on my skin and wouldn’t blend in properly. The only difference was how I applied the foundation. The first time I used my Sigma F80 and the second time my beauty blender so when you think this foundation costs £34 it’s pretty disappointing that you are limited in what tools you can use to apply it.My skin has been a bit up and down over the last couple of months and even though this foundation is classed as a light, but buildable coverage I think you can only get the best out of it when your skin is pretty clear.

Unfortunately for me it doesn’t completely cover my redness, breakout scarring or pigmentation so you definitely need a concealer to hide any of these issues. However, I think this is more down to the shade selection as Buttermilk is quite a light foundation. So while this looks really natural on the skin and is quite a good colour match for me it doesn’t have any peach tones or warmth to help hide any of the issues I mentioned above. If I mix it with my Dior foundation in B20 Light Beige then I get the coverage I need and I’m able to hide most of my imperfections.

For an everyday natural/luminous look this is a great foundation and I love the packaging, the size and the tube applicator. However, to get the very best out of it you need a clear, even skintone so I wouldn’t buy this foundation again, which is a shame as I had such high hopes for this product.

Surprisingly, the Delilah foundation contains more product at 38ml compared to 30ml for the Dior foundation. However, the Dior Star Fluid is still my all time favourite foundation and once this bottle is finished I will definitely be re-purchasing it.

Suz x

