Tags

, ,


Hi there,

It’s been a while since my last beauty post as I’ve been busy trying to use up all my half used products and all I can say was that it wasn’t one of my better ideas. What I learnt from the experiment was there was a reason why I stopped using most of them and that was because they don’t bloody work! Therefore, cue the inevitable break out, shiny face and weird little bumps even after I went back to my normal everyday products.This called for drastic action so I had to abandon the project and buy some new skincare to try and fix my problem skin. In the past the only thing that’s worked when I’ve had rubbish skin is trying something new which seems to shock my skin into behaving. This time I didn’t want to spend too much money so this ruled out my favourite brands (Fresh and Flint+Flint) straight away.The Ordinary is a brand which is massively hyped at the moment, but it is incredibly cheap so I decided to invest in three items from their range to see for myself what all the fuss is about. However, what I don’t like about this brand is how complicated they have made their product range. As you can imagine I have bought lots of skincare over the years and this range is by far the most complicated to work out what to buy.

After reading their regime guide, which was pretty useless, I resorted to finding out the information myself through online reviews and YouTube videos. And it was only after weeks of research that was I finally able to make a decision, so if they hadn’t have been so cheap I would have given up.

I chose the Advanced Retinoid 2% to help clear my breakout and tiny bumps, the Alpha Arbutin 2% HA serum to try and fix some hyperpigmentation I have and the Azelaic Acid Suspension 10% cream to help reduce redness and brighten my skin.

In total I spent £20.50 and although the cheapness of them really appealed to me I do question whether they will work as my skin, unfortunately for me, usually only responds to massively overpriced products!

I have been using these for a couple of weeks now and out of the three I like the advanced retinoid the best. I can’t say I particularly enjoy using these products as I’m not the biggest fan of runny beauty products, which the retinoid and serum are, but I will give them three months to see how my skin responds. The cream has a nice texture and once it has been rubbed in it leaves your skin feeling soft, but it can sometimes make your skin tingle so I can only hope it’s doing its job.

Although I always buy products in the hope they make my skin look and feel great I also take enjoyment from the packaging, texture and smell, which these products all lack so it’s more of a chore than a pleasure to apply them. However, at the end of the day if they work that’s all that matters.

I will do an in-depth review in three months time and let you know if I will continue using them. Hopefully by then I will also have had chance to get my hands on the foundation so I can do a review on that.

Are you loving The Ordinary range?

Suz x

