Tags

, ,

Hi there,

Making banana bread has been on my baking to-do list for the best part of two years. However, I’ve never found a recipe that inspired me enough to put it to the top of the list until now. When I made this bake, I’d had no internet connection for almost a week so it’s surprising how much housework and baking you can do when you have no distractions!

Having made two batches of granola along with some Deliciously Ella ginger and cashew balls (blog post coming soon) I was at a loose end with some over ripe bananas and plenty of coconut oil to use up so I decided to make this vegan banana and walnut bread and I was thrilled with the results. 

This is a lovely little recipe, which is really simple to make and is perfect for those days when you have no eggs or butter to hand, but decide you want to make a cake. I love the combination of bananas and dates in this cake as well as the texture, which seemed to get better and better as the days went on. The toasted walnuts add a lovely crunch and the only fault I could find with this cake is that I needed to cook it for an extra 10 minutes, but luckily it didn’t taste dry. 

I have already made this cake again, in fact as soon as it cools down I will be having a slice with a nice cup of coffee. And with three jars of coconut oil to get through I can definitely see this cake being made again in the very near future! 

The recipe can be found here. The only change I made from the original recipe is that I used wholemeal self-raising flour instead of white self-raising flour.

Suz x

