Tags

, ,

Hi there,

I’m a big fan of spicy bean burgers as they are a great alternative to potatoes. They are also an easy option after work as you can just throw them in the oven. However, it always concerns me that shop bought frozen food might be full of salt and fat so I try to limit the amount we eat.

Where possible I always like to cook from scratch so when I saw this recipe I was really excited. In the back of my mind I thought I could ditch the frozen variety and make up a big batch to freeze and use up as and when needed.I love the flavours and the texture of these little fritters, but what surprised me most was the actual process of making them. I find them very soothing and enjoyable to make, mainly because I get to play with my food processor as well as various spices.I was planning to put this recipe up on the blog weeks ago, but I couldn’t resist experimenting with some of the ingredients so I thought I would wait until I’d tried a few different flavours. In total, I have made these fritters three times and each time they were a great success.As well as sweet potato and courgette I have also made these with carrot and sweet potato, and parsnip and carrot. Although I loved the taste of the sweet potato I have admit that my favourite combination was parsnip and carrot as the sweet parsnip paired really well with the mustard seeds, garlic and turmeric. However, I don’t see why you couldn’t use whatever you have in your store cupboard to make up a batch. 

Portion wise I get around 8-9 fritters out of this mixture and we eat them over two days. Funnily enough I still haven’t got around to freezing a batch yet, but as I find them so enjoyable to make I’ll probably stick with making them fresh each time. 

These fritters have become a firm favourite in our house so with summer just around the corner I think these would be perfect with some juicy chicken, garlic mushrooms and halloumi cheese or with an amazing sweet and sour rainbow slaw. They also go surprisingly well with the cacao chilli con carne I featured on the blog a few weeks back.

Ingredients:

  • 300g grated sweet potato
  • 100g grated courgette
  • 3 spring onions
  • 3 tbsp spelt flour
  • 3 medium eggs
  • 1 tsp ground turmeric
  • 1 tsp black mustard seeds
  • 1 garlic cloves (or squeezy garlic)
  • 2 tbsp coconut/normal oil

Method:

  1. Whisk the eggs and combine with the grated sweet potato, courgette and onion (can be done by hand or in a food processor).
  2. Add the garlic, turmeric, flour and mustard seeds, and mix until well combined.
  3. Divide the mixture into 6-8 patties or smaller if you want more fritters.
  4. Heat the oil in a frying pan and cook the fritters for four minutes on each side, or until they are dark brown.

Recipe taken from the Happy Kitchen Cook book.

Suz x

