Tags

, , ,

Hi there,

I finally got myself sorted and managed to write up one of the many blog posts I’ve been planning over the last month!

I love going out for coffee and cake, but I would never choose a cinnamon bun. However, it’s a completely different story when it comes to homemade buns as I love working with enriched dough.

Enriched dough is so easy to work with and I haven’t had any disasters with it so far. I find working with this type of dough very soothing as I love how puffy it looks when it has been rolled out. It’s also very satisfying when it comes to adding all the ingredients and slicing it up to reveal it in all its glory. 

A few weeks back I was asked to make some cinnamon buns for my husband’s work colleagues so with a Sunday afternoon to spare I dug out a Paul Hollywood recipe and a few hours later I was admiring and taste testing my cinnamon, mixed fruit and chocolate lemon drizzle buns.

I baked mine for 20 minutes as per the recipe. However, I think I could have got away with taking them out of the oven around the 18 minute mark as the buns on the top shelf looked a bit darker than those on the second shelf. These buns are best eaten on the day as they seemed a bit dry the next day so I’m not sure if this was down to the cooking time or whether they should be eaten straight away. 

Overall these tasted amazing so I will definitely be making them again, but I might experiment a bit more with the baking times. However, I plan to stick to the original recipe next time and see if apricots and cranberries are as much of a winning combination as chocolate and mixed fruit!

Suz x