Tags

, , , , , ,

Hi there,

I love coffee, I love walnuts and I love traybakes, but until now I’ve never brought them all together in one cake. I’m a big fan of the recipes featured in You Magazine so when I saw some of the cakes featured in last weekend’s pull out I couldn’t wait to make the espresso and walnut cake. I’ve never made anything from Lorraine Pascale before and as I had quite a few espresso pods lying around I thought I’d make it for Mother’s Day. As well as featuring coffee this cake also appealed to me as it doesn’t require too many ingredients, is relatively quick and easy to make, and it’s just one of those chuck it all in and mix type of cakes, which is always a bonus if like me you’re short of time.

Having already made three batches of granola before starting this cake I was surprised that no disaster befell me and 36 minutes later I had a perfectly cooked and even cake ready to be decorated with a deliciously moreish coffee buttercream.

This cake was light, fluffy and full of flavor, and I enjoyed it so much that I gave most of it away! This is one of those cakes that is perfect with a cup of coffee, but it tastes so nice that you can’t stop eating it so I had no choice but to pass it on otherwise I would have eaten the lot myself.

You can get eight very generous portions or 16 acceptable portions from this cake and I highly recommend giving it a go. I know I will definitely be making this one again. The link to the recipe can be found at the top of the page.

 Suz x

