Tags

, , ,

dsc_0165

Hi there,

A few months back I bought some lemon and earl grey shortbread from Waitrose as a treat. Now I had no expectations, but I loved them so much that I vowed I would have a go at making my own at some point in the future. That point came last weekend and all was going to plan until I realised that I couldn’t find the earl grey teabags!

dsc_0154 dsc_0156 dsc_0158

So with no plans to leave the house or buy any more ingredients I had to find an alternative… And I have to admit that I was thrilled with how these biscuits turned out. I ended up using one of my peach and cherry rooibos teabags along with some lemon zest and I couldn’t believe how fruity these biscuits tasted.

dsc_0161

I also decided to take a gamble on using coconut sugar instead of caster sugar to see what happened and the only difference I could tell was the colour of the biscuits, as they came out a lovely caramel colour, which was a slight shame as it would have been nice to see the contrast of the leaves against the pale biscuit. Having never baked with coconut sugar before I didn’t know what to expect, but to be honest I couldn’t tell any difference in terms of taste and texture. However, if the coconut sugar makes this a healthier biscuit then I’m all for it.

dsc_0165

I definitely plan to make these biscuits again so I can see what they taste like when using earl grey leaves, but next time I’ll stick with the caster sugar so you can see the leaves better. This is a great little recipe, which doesn’t require too many ingredients. These biscuits are perfect with a nice cup of tea and I also like the fact that you can switch up the ingredients to come up with lots of different flavour combinations.

Ingredients:

  • 100g unsalted butter, softened
  • Lemon zest
  • 2 tsp tea leaves (earl grey or fruit)
  • 175g plain flour
  • 50g caster sugar (or coconut sugar)

Method:

  1. Beat the butter, tea leaves and lemon zest together.
  2. Add the sugar and beat until light and fluffy.
  3. Mix in the flour with a wooden spoon before using your hands to bring the mixture together until it resembles a soft dough. This might take a while as it can be a bit dry with so much flour.
  4. Roll the dough into a roll measuring 18cm long, 4cm wide and leave in the fridge for a couple of hours to firm up.
  5. Preheat the oven to 160°C. Cover a baking tray with parchment. Slice the dough into 5mm slices and bake until golden brown for 10-15 minutes.
  6. Leave to cool.

Suz x

Recipe taken from Paul Hollywood’s Pies and Puds book under lavender biscuits.

