Tags

,

dsc_0018

Happy New Year, I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas. I can’t believe how fast the holidays went and that’s it’s back to work in the morning!

I’m not the biggest fan of biscuits so I very rarely make my own, but when I came across this Viennese recipe and saw how few ingredients were needed I thought I’d make the effort to try something new.dsc_0022

dsc_0017

And although the recipe didn’t quite go to plan the end result was more than worth it as these little biscuits are so light and full of flavour that I can’t wait to make some more. dsc_0020

dsc_0033However, the next time I make them I will make sure that the butter is completely softened as it was still a bit too firm. This meant it took longer to bring the mixture together and it was harder to pipe out so some biscuits were a bit on the slim side, which is ok if you’re on a diet, but not so good if you’re not. dsc_0034

dsc_0035

dsc_0036

dsc_0039

As per usual I added my own little twist by adding some lemon zest and using white chocolate instead of dark, but next time I want to try a chocolate orange as well as a chocolate and lime combination. And instead on piping out a line I will make the biscuits round.

Ingredients:

  • 100g softened butter
  • 25g icing sugar
  • 100g plain flour
  • ¼tsp baking powder
  • 50g plain chocolate
  • Grated zest of one lemon (optional)

Method:

1. Pre-heat the oven to 190 degrees and lightly grease 2 baking trays
2. Measure the butter and icing in a bowl and beat until pale and fluffy
3. Sieve in the flour and baking powder and beat until mixed thoroughly
4. Spoon the mixture into a piping bag, fitted with a medium star nozzle, and pipe into finger shapes about 3 inches long making sure to space them well apart
5. Bake in the pre-heated oven for 10 minutes or until a pale golden brown before leaving to cool on a wire rack
6. Break the chocolate into pieces and melt over a pan of hot water. Dip the fingers into the chocolate and leave to set on the wire rack.

Suz x

