Tags

, , ,

dsc_7103Hi there,

I’ve been in two minds whether to post about this gift set as its not available to buy anymore. However, the black eyeliner can be ordered individually and as I have an opinion on this liner I think it’s worth a blog post.dsc_7104I’m a big fan of Jouer and I think they have really knocked it out of the park over the last year. Jouer is one brand that I always keep an eye on, especially at Christmas so when I saw this year’s offering I was really excited and planned to buy this set as well as the Best of Nudes Mini Gift Set. But sadly, I was too late and the lip set sold out super quick… I’m pretty sure the regret will last until next Christmas!

Green, Navy, Plum, Brown, Charcoal, Black

Green, Navy, Plum, Brown, Charcoal, Black

So on to the review…even though eyeliner is an essential part of my routine I can’t bear to pay no more than £8. And while I’m generally happy there’s always an issue with smudging under the eye. The best budget eyeliner I’ve come across by far is from Makeup Geek, but as I had a 15% off discount code I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to try a more expensive eyeliner from one of my favourite brands.

dsc_7147

dsc_7150

So, for £28.90 I got six full size matte eyeliners, which works out at £4.81 per liner, which is fantastic value and almost half what I normally pay. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but to be honest I have been blown away. All have great pigmentation, are creamy, easy to apply, last all day and don’t smudge what so ever.

image

imageWell I should say five out of the six have blown me away as the black eyeliner is a different story. The texture was completely different and after only one use it felt loose, which got me thinking that it may fall out and this is exactly what happened the next time I used it. This gift set disappeared very suddenly from the Cult Beauty website so I think this must be a common problem which is why they decided to pull it from the website rather than it being sold out.

Luckily as the black is available online I was able to request a replacement which arrived last week. So far I’ve used it twice, but it seems very ‘creamy’. I’ve been applying this with a very light hand so I’m not sure it will go the distance. I’ve also had some slight smudging so this one doesn’t win any brownie points and I wouldn’t re-purchase it again.

dsc_7106

So, while there have been some issues with this set I’m still glad I bought it. I really enjoy using the brown, charcoal and green eyeliners as they apply like a dream and stay put all day without a smudge in sight. Navy and Charcoal are also a good combination together so I just hope they make them available to buy individually at some point in the future.

Suz x

