Tags

, ,

dsc_7089

Hi there,

I’m a big fan of crisps and could happily chomp my way through copious amounts on a daily basis so when my husband said he wanted to make some roasted chilli and lime chickpeas I was excited to see how they would compare against other savoury snacks and whether I’d finally found a healthy alternative that would cure me of my crisp addiction once and for all.dsc_7079

dsc_7080

dsc_7083

dsc_7085It has to be said that this is one of the easiest recipes I’ve come across and it’s really versatile in that you can tailor the recipe to suit your own favourite flavour combinations. These chickpeas are pretty spicy so if you’re not big on spice then you’ll need to reduce the measure by ½ tsp or less. I also didn’t get much of a hit from the lime so I think another teaspoon could be added to make the chickpeas more zingy.dsc_7086

dsc_7087

I think these are a great little snack to have while watching TV, especially when they are more than a little crispy, but I’m not sure if they’ve cured me of my favourite snack just yet! I think more experimenting is definitely on the cards with lots of different flavour combinations. As well as being a savoury snack I also think these would be pretty fab as a sweet snack as well. With Chrismtas just around the corner I think a mixed spice and orange roasted chickpea sounds like a good idea.dsc_7091

dsc_7094

Ingredients:

  • 425g tinned chickpeas rinsed and drained
  • 1tbsp olive oil
  • 1tbsp lime juice
  • 1tsp chilli powder
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • 1-2 tsp grated lime zest

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 190ºC and line a large rimmed baking sheet with baking paper
  2. Pat the chickpeas completely dry and place them in a medium sized bowl.
  3. Mix the dry spices together in a separate bowl until well mixed.
  4. Pour the olive oil over the chickpeas and stir. Add the spice mix and roll the chickpeas around the bowl making sure they are evenly coated.
  5. Spread the chickpeas out on the baking sheet and roast for 20 minutes. Stir the chickpeas and cook for another 20 minutes or until they are golden brown.
  6. Remove the chickpeas from the oven and add the lime zest to lightly coat the chickpeas
  7. Allow to cool on the baking sheet for 10 minutes so the chickpeas can crisp up.

Recipe taken from my all-time favourite cook book – Whole Food Energy by Elise Museles

Suz x

