Tags

, ,

dsc_6976

Hi there,

Sorry it’s been a while since my last post. I’ve been meaning to update my blog with this post for the last month but life got in the way as we’ve been busy decorating the house, and I’ve been extra busy at work along with trying to fix my broken phone and the flat battery on my car. Why does everything seem to brake at the same time?

So here goes…

My husband is a big fan of protein bars, but even buying them from shops like Home Bargains it still works out at around a £1 a bar which soon adds up to a hefty £20 a month. I was confident that it would work out cheaper if we made them ourselves so after tasking him to find a recipe he came back to me with this Banana oatmeal protein bar recipe and over the past couple of weeks I have been busy perfecting it for him.dsc_6934

dsc_6935

dsc_6937

dsc_7023

dsc_6938This is one of those recipes which can be thrown together in no time at all and requires no special equipment other than a set of measuring cups and a square brownie tin, which is perfect for those days when you’re in a hurry. I’m not the biggest fan of protein bars as I don’t always enjoy the texture and they can be overly sweet. However, the beauty of making your own bars means you can limit the amount of sugar you use.dsc_7024

dsc_7026

dsc_7027

dsc_7052As you would expect I have played around with the recipe over the last couple of weeks as I didn’t always have the right ingredients to hand so another bonus with this recipe is that it’s pretty versatile. Past attempts have seen me use oatmeal as well oats along with mixed fruit and cherries instead of cranberries and a mixture of nuts instead of just almonds. I have also used plain protein powder instead of vanilla protein powder.dsc_7096

dsc_7099I’d say my last attempt was the most successful as I used vanilla protein powder for the first time and I also left the banana to ripen longer so the bars were slightly sweeter and a bit more moist. My husband also prefers the bars to be more crisp (not burnt!) so even though I increased the heat and cooked them for 25 minutes instead of 30 they weren’t dry. These bars definitely taste better (to me anyway) when they are still slightly warm. However, I have experimented with putting them in the freezer so they don’t go stale if like my Husband you’re eating them throughout the week.dsc_6977

Depending how generous you are this recipe makes around 8-10 bars. Having made these for my Husband for the last five to six weeks he doesn’t seem to be tiring of them just yet so it’s a great snack to have on hand and it’s saving us a ton of money on shop bought protein bars.

Suz x

