Tags

, ,

dsc_6785Hi there,

I’ve featured a few scone recipes on the blog over the years, but I was surprised to realise that I’ve never written about my favourite scone recipe. After making Mary’s beef bourguignon I had a bit of time on my hands while it was cooking so I decided to dig out her buttermilk and sultana scone recipe as a treat for my husband.dsc_6775

dsc_6776 dsc_6778It’s a bold statement, but this is definitely the best scone recipe out there as they are really light, moist and fluffy and one is never enough. I’m a big fan of baking with buttermilk and it’s this ingredient which I think elevates these scones from good to amazing. I also like this recipe as you can use your food processor so it’s ideal for lazy days when you just want to bung everything in before bringing it together by hand at the end.dsc_6780 dsc_6781This recipe states that it makes 12 scones and even though I used the correct sized cutter I got a few more scones so you could probably get away with not rolling out the dough as much as I did. I also deviated slightly from the recipe as I didn’t have any sultanas so I used mixed fruit instead as well as some grated orange zest and I felt the orange added a lovely flavour so I would definitely incorporate more orange into the recipe next time. I’m sure I will be making these scones again at some point, but next time I’d love to try a ginger, orange and cherry flavour combination.dsc_6782_ dsc_6783

dsc_6786The recipe is available online here.

Suz x

