Tags

, , ,

dsc_6817

Hi there,

Mary Berry is the undisputed Queen of cakes and up until the other weekend I hadn’t tried making anything other than her cakes. However, some of her recipes were featured in the Daily Mail’s You magazine a couple of weekends back and I couldn’t help but be tempted by the beef bourguignon as well as a sumptuous looking port based cottage pie.

dsc_6790

dsc_6795

dsc_6796

dsc_6797

dsc_6800

dsc_6802

dsc_6806

So after spending a mammoth £7 on stewed steak I set about making my very first beef bourguignon and I have to say it’s one of the best homemade meals I’ve eaten in a long time and I’ll be coming back to this recipe again and again over the coming months. Although next time I’ll probably cook it a bit longer than the recipes states to try and thicken up the gravy a bit more.

dsc_6808

dsc_6819

dsc_6821

Not only is this recipe simple to follow, but it is wonderfully rich and satisfying and just perfect for the colder months. With the dark nights drawing in any stews, casseroles and curries we make in the future we have decided to freeze any leftovers so that we’ve got some quick and easy midweek meals to come home to. This recipe is perfect as it serves 6 so for us we’ll get three meals out of it.

My photos are not as good as shown in the magazine, but if you fancy giving it a go one Sunday then the recipe is available online here.

Suz x

