Tags

, , ,

DSC_6468

Hi there,

This granola cheesecake came about purely by accident after the granola and walnut bars I made turned out to be a complete disaster. I was expecting to see some tasty, moreish, chewy bars which would save us the hassle of having to buy some for work, but they were far too dry and just collapsed into pieces.

DSC_6418

DSC_6448

DSC_6451

After all that work I didn’t want to just throw them away so as I had some cream cheese and mascarpone to hand there was only one alternative and that was to make some individual cheesecakes. I had enough mixture to make eight small cheesecakes so I decided to make four lemon cheesecakes and four lime cheesecakes and very nice they were too, but I guess anything that contains sugar is bad for you!

DSC_6454These little cheesecakes were lovely and light and the granola base was the perfect accompaniment. The granola base contained lots of healthy ingredients like oats, bee pollen, mixed seeds and walnuts, and I made sure I topped the cheesecakes with strawberries, blueberries, cacao nibs and more walnuts so I didn’t feel like I was indulging too much.DSC_6455

DSC_6458DSC_6461

DSC_6465

DSC_6473I didn’t follow a specific recipe when it came to making the cheesecake topping I mostly did it by taste so the ingredients below are estimate of everything I chucked in. For the lemon cheesecakes I didn’t have any fresh lemons to hand only lemon juice so it wasn’t as zingy as I’d have liked, but I somehow managed to pull it together as we had some lemon curd in. However, I did have some limes so using fresh always tastes much better.DSC_6496

DSC_6484

DSC_6503So it just goes to show that failed recipes can sometimes turn into something even better if you give it enough time and thought!

Lemon cheesecake ingredients:

  • 100g mascarpone
  • 100g cream cheese
  • 30g icing sugar
  • 2tbsp lemon curd
  • lemon juice
  • 2-3tbsp granola mix (or you could use the homemade granola I featured on the blog a few months back)

Lime cheesecake ingredients:

  • 150g mascarpone
  • 150g cream cheese
  • 50g icing sugar
  • zest one lime
  • Juice of one lime
  • 2-3tbsp granola mix

Suz x

