Tags

, , ,

DSC_6262

Hi there,

Although the blog has been a bit barren of late I have still been busy in kitchen. Not always completely successful mind, but one recipe which did work out was for me was a gooey caramel biscuit bar. Or in other words a raw millionaire’s shortbread. I’ve made and enjoyed millionaire shortbread in the past, but a healthier alternative is always a winner in my eyes so I couldn’t wait to get cracking on this recipe, which I found on one of my favourite food blogs called Charley’s Health.DSC_6256

DSC_6257

DSC_6258

One of the biggest surprises was how rich and indulgent these bars were and although the dates took a bit of time breaking down in the food processor it was definitely worth the effort as the texture of these bars was perfect. I used a loaf tin for the mixture and got seven bars out of the recipe, which is simply not enough as once you try one of these sweet treats one is just not enough and even the husband sulked when they were all finished.DSC_6260

DSC_6268

The problem only I encountered when making these bars is that I made the chocolate topping a bit too runny so when it came to the drizzle part my bars didn’t look the best as the top needed to be bit thicker, so as you can see from the pictures I tried to make them look a bit better with some strategically placed strawberries, which if I’m honest probably didn’t work. However, they tasted amazing so that’s all that really matters.

Give them a go you won’t be disappointed! I changed the original recipe to fit in with what I had in, but if you check out Charley’s website you can find the original recipe on there.

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup cashew nuts
  • ½ cup jumbo oats
  • 3 heaped tbsp coconut flour
  • 2tbsp date syrup (or set honey)
  • 1tbsp peanut butter
  • Unsweetened almond milk
  • 6-10 dates depending on size or 6 medjool dates
  • 2tbsp coconut oil
  • 1tbsp cacao powder

Method:

  1. To make the base blend the cashew nuts in a food processor for a few seconds until slightly crushed. Add the oats, coconut flour, 1tbsp of date syrup and 1tbsp coconut oil, and process until everything starts to stick together. Add more coconut oil or date syrup if the mixture isn’t sticky enough.
  2. Transfer the mixture into a baking dish (I used a loaf tin) and flatten everything down to create a smooth surface. Leave in the freezer to set.
  3. For the caramel layer add the peanut butter, almond milk and dates and process until the mixture is smooth and resembles caramel. Spread this over the base and return to the freezer.
  4. Melt the coconut oil and mix with the cacao powder and date syrup. Once the mixture has thickened slice the bars into six slices and drizzle over the chocolate topping. Leave in the freezer to set – approx an hour.

Suz x

