Tags

, , ,

DSC_5788

Hi there,

I can’t believe it took me so long to not only ‘get’ peanut butter, but to get round to making my own as by now I could have spent years experimenting with all kinds of flavours. Although it’s only been a few weeks since I made up my first batch I’ve been happily playing with all kinds of nuts, textures and flavour combinations.

Salted caramel Brazil nut butter

Salted caramel Brazil nut butter

Salted caramel almond butter

Salted caramel almond butter

BN3

Salted caramel granola

So far I’ve made three types of salted caramel nut butter. The first time I used almonds and walnuts with dates and date syrup, the second time I used brazil nuts with mixed nuts (cashews and hazelnuts) and my last attempt saw me actually follow the recipe and use almonds and dates and I have to say that my improvised Brazil nut butter was definitely the best tasting as Brazil nuts add such a distinctive flavour. Salted Brazil nut butter is great paired with homemade granola as not only does it give it a more golden colour, but it tastes so much better as well. It’s also a great for spreading over a toasted bagel as it’s super quick on a morning with some plump blueberries.

Hazelnut

As a child I was a big fan of hazelnut spread and I could quite happily sit down with a jar and just a spoon so I decided that I would have a go at making my own. I did hesitate when it came to making my own purely because it could have been a very dangerous for me! However, there is one element to this recipe which is enough of a nuisance to putting me off making it again and that is trying to get the skin off the hazelnuts once they’d been roasted. I have no idea if you can buy blanched hazelnuts, but it is definitely worth looking into.

Hazelnut and cacao granola

Hazelnut and cacao granola

The consistency of mine was a little thick so I think you definitely need to add more almond milk. However, as I was only using mine to make granola and spread on a toasted bagel it didn’t matter too much that it was a little thick. In my opinion the hazelnut butter recipe does need a little tweaking as it could do with a bit more sweetness so if I did make it again I’d play around with either adding more date syrup or maybe try adding some honey. This nut butter tastes amazing with strawberries so if you’re planning on making it be sure to get some in. The best ones can be found in Morrison’s supermarket and they’re only £1 at the moment (not sponsored!).

Brazil nut butter (makes around 140g, recipe can be doubled to make extra)

Ingredients:

  • 100g brazil nuts
  • 75g cashews and hazelnuts
  • 2 dates
  • 1 tsp date syrup
  • ½ tsp Himalayan pink salt
  • 1 tbsp melted coconut oil

Method:

  1. Place the nuts, dates, date syrup and salt in a food processor and blend for 5 minutes, making sure to scrape down the sides. The nuts will go from a crumbly consistency to a smoother one. Continue to process the nuts until they resemble a nut butter, which should take about 10 minutes.
  2. For a creamier consistency add a tablespoon of coconut oil. Store in a dark place or the fridge for 10 days.

Hazelnut and Cacao nut butter (makes 136g, recipe can be doubled to make extra)

  • 125g hazelnuts
  • 1 ½ tbsp cacao powder
  • 1 ½ tbsp date syrup
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp melted coconut oil
  • pinch of sea salt

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 200ºC. Roast the hazelnuts on a baking sheet for 6-8 minutes. Remove from the oven and allow to cool.
  2. Use a paper towel to hold the hazelnuts and rub gently to remove the skin.
  3. Place the hazelnut in the food processor and process until you have a smooth texture.
  4. Add the cacao powder, vanilla extract, date syrup and coconut oil and blend. Add the sea salt for the last two minutes of the process. If the mixture is too thick add a few tablespoons of plant-based milk. Store in the fridge for up to a week.
