Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

DSC_5345

Hi there,

I was planning to have a lovely carrot cake post on the blog today as it’s been a while since I made a full on sugar loaded cake. However, true to form the cake decided that even after 2 hours baking, double the time specified that it simply wasn’t going to cook all the way through so I’ve had to go back to the drawing board and come up with something else. I thought I’d do a bit of a beauty ramble instead, what I’m loving right now, what I want to get my hands on and what I thought was rubbish and wouldn’t purchase again.DSC_5337

DSC_5447

Current favourites: So let’s start with a bit of positivity… I’ve been using my Too Faced Peach Palette almost constantly since I bought it back in May and I absolutely love it. There is a lot of negativity about this palette, but for me it’s spot on. I love the colours, the formulation and the staying power and I’m enjoying creating lots of new looks. The only dud in the palette so far is Bless Her Heart as it lacks pigmentation and staying power, which is a shame as this was the colour that appealed to me most and which made my mind up to buy the palette. But on the plus side I would never have got to use Tempting which is such a striking colour and which I wear all the time. The worst thing about this palette is that it is a limited edition release so I hope they bring this palette back permanently as I would definitely buy a back-up.DSC_6103

DSC_6105

Rose Spritz - Amaretto - Pamplemousse - Champagne Pop - Prosecco Pop

Rose Spritz – Amaretto – Pamplemousse – Champagne Pop – Prosecco Pop

Another palette I’ve been loving this month is the Jaclyn Hill Champagne Pop Face Palette. While I don’t like what happened with the eyeshadow palette I have to give grudging respect for this as a product because the more I use it the more I like it. Pamplemousse is the best blusher I’ve ever used and I would go so far as say it is up their as my HG pink blusher, but I equally love mixing the shades to create my own blusher. I really wanted to get my hands on a couple of the splits, but I missed them on pre-order so fingers crossed this shade gets released permanently.Mac

GlamGlow spatulaCurrent wish list: For once I’ve actually been doing pretty well in that I haven’t bought too much new make up. However, what it has done has made me think of all the products that I really loved but never got round to re-purchasing as I generally tend to move on to the next big thing/brand. I have some old favourites on the wish list and as soon as I see a decent discount they’ll be in the shopping basket. These include:

  • Chanel Vitalumière Aqua in B20 – my all-time favourite foundation
  • GLAMGLOW Supermud Clearing Treatment  – definitely the best face mask I’ve ever used
  • Macadamia Deep Repair Masque – again the best hair masque I’ve ever used as it leaves my hair in great condition
  • MAC Paint Pot in Painterly – this is the best eye primer/eye brightener that I’ve used

DSC_6277Disappointing products: Every man and his dog was obsessed with Bioderma when it first came out and the very fact that you couldn’t get it in the UK made it even more desirable to most people, including me. However, after persuading a work colleague to bring me some over from France I have to say that it left me disappointed as it didn’t do a good job of removing eye make up. When I use this I still have to cleanse afterwards so it seems pretty pointless. It’s taken my ages to get through two 500ml bottles so I definitely won’t be re-purchasing it again. I’ve recently bought a little bottle of the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water and it’s so much better as it feels like it actually removes all my make up.

DSC_6279

DSC_6280I bought this Sonia Kashuck eye primer in Seattle as a replacement for my MAC Paint Pot and sadly it hasn’t lived up to my expectations. This is the first time I’ve tried anything from this brand as we can’t get hold of it in the UK. I was originally looking to buy some make up brushes, but they were pretty expensive so I decided to buy this instead and now I’m stuck with trying to use it up before I can re-purchase Painterly.DSC_6278

DSC_6281I bought the Elemis Tri-Enzyme Resurfacing Night Cream as part of a set which meant it was so much more cost effective and so I can only thank my lucky stars as I’ve never really got on with this cream. I used to use the cleanser, which I really enjoyed so I expected to love this night cream equally as much considering the wild price tag. However, this cream doesn’t look or feel special and it did absolutely nothing for my skin. I definitely won’t be re-purchasing it again!

Suz x

