Tags

, , , ,

DSC_5301

Hi there,

I’m a big fan of chocolate truffles, but I rarely eat them now. However, I’m really happy to have found a truffle recipe which not only satisfies my sweet tooth, but is chock full of healthy ingredients so I don’t have to worry about them being too bad for me.DSC_6172

DSC_6173

DSC_6174

DSC_5299

DSC_6179

Mint truffles with cacao nibs

DSC_5300

I’ve played around with a few flavours over the last couple of months, but my favourites so far are the mint truffles with cacao nibs. These truffles are wonderfully rich and smooth, and considering there is no chocolate or double cream in them I think they do a great job of being both indulgent and satisfying. I now make my own peanut butter so the last time I made these truffles I used a salted caramel nut butter so the taste is always slightly different each time I make them, which I think always adds an interesting element.DSC_5302

DSC_5080

The only complaint I have about these truffles is that the mixture can soften quite quickly so when it comes to shaping them it can get quite messy even with cling film. I’ve recently come across some raw organic chocolate with brandy soaked cherries, which tastes absolutely amazing so this flavour combination is definitely at the top of my list to make into ‘healthy truffles’ and instead of adding peanut butter I plan to make and add my own cacao and hazelnut butter so it should make them even more indulgent.

DSC_6193

Mint truffle with a raw fig chocolate orange brownie

DSC_5079

Chai-spiced truffles

DSC_5088

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp coconut butter (I find easier to work with if it’s been softened first)
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil, softened
  • 2 tbsp. maple syrup (I use date syrup)
  • ½ tsp peppermint extract (depending on the flavour combination you can change this to orange or vanilla)
  • 25g cacao powder
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter, softened or at room temperature
  • 1 tbsp cacao nibs (optional, but I think these add a lovely crunchy texture to the truffle)
  • pinch of sea salt (I use Himalayan pink salt)

Method:

  1. Place the coconut butter, coconut oil, maple syrup and extract in a medium bowl and mix until smooth.
  2. Add the nut butter and stir until combined.
  3. Mix in the cacao powder, sea salt, mint extract and cacao nibs and stir well until the powder dissolves completely.
  4. Place in the fridge for 30 minutes to chill.
  5. Remove from the fridge and form into small balls then roll in cacao powder. Once complete place the truffles back into the fridge for 1 hour.

*This recipe was taken from my Whole Food Energy although I have adapted it slightly with some of the ingredients.

Suz x

