Tags

, , , , , ,

DSC_5884

Hi there,

The recipes I’ve been most inspired by of late have all been healthy rather than indulgent so I thought I’d share with you a great little recipe, which features all my favourite ingredients as well as a bit of naughtiness. I’ve had my fair share of fails and successes when it comes to oats, but these oat, banana and chocolate cups are definitely a success in my eyes as they are a fab little treat, which are perfect straight out of the oven with a nice cup of coffee. They are very easy to make, require only a few ingredients and you could make them healthier by replacing the chocolate chips with cacao nibs if you wanted to.DSC_5859

DSC_5860

DSC_5862

DSC_5863

DSC_5864

DSC_5865

Prior to making these I was worried they would have the same texture as the ginger and oat no bake biscuits that I made and didn’t like a few months back, but luckily the texture was much better as they weren’t too soft or squidgy. I was also worried about the addition of the banana as I’m not the biggest fan when it comes to banana, but thankfully the flavour complimented the chocolate perfectly rather than overwhelmed it.DSC_5868

DSC_5866

DSC_5877

DSC_5882

These cups are best eaten within the first few days, although you can freeze them to save for later.DSC_5883

Ingredients:

  • 175g rolled oats
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • ½tsp sea salt
  • 1tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2tbsp coconut oil, melted plus extra for greasing
  • 50g mashed bananas
  • 240ml unsweetened plant milk
  • 2tbsp maple syrup (I used date syrup)
  • 75g chocolate chips
  • ½ banana, sliced to top

Method:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180ºC and grease a muffin tin with the melted coconut oil.
  2. Combine the oats, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a large bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl ,combine the coconut oil, mashed banana, syrup and milk
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix to combine. Add the chocolate chips and mix well.
  5. Pour the mixture into the prepared muffin tin and add the sliced banana to the tops of each oat cup before baking.
  6. Bake for 22-25 minutes until cups are golden. Eat immediately or store in the fridge for two days or freeze for up to one month. Reheat before serving.

Suz x

