Tags

, , , , ,

DSC_6005

Hi there,

Sine our trip to Canada and USA a few years back both my husband and I have become big fans of going out for breakfast. So as we had a long weekend coming up we decided that we would visit Federal Café & Bar, which is one of our favourite places to go for Breakfast. Located in the Northern Quarter in Manchester this café is incredibly popular so you need to get there early otherwise you can’t get a table!

DSC_5699

‘Shrooms with halloumi

Epic French Toast

My husband chose the French Toast, which was stunning!

I ordered the garlic and thyme ‘shrooms with halloumi on sour dough toast with poached eggs, rocket, spicy tomato relish and dukkah, which was a gamble on my part as I hate mushrooms. However, they looked so awesome that I thought it was worth the risk and I have to say that it was the best breakfast I’ve ever eaten and I loved the mushrooms. The portions are huge, so at £8 this is great value as it literally keeps you going all day.

DSC_5998

DSC_6002

So fast forward a few weeks and I’ve been thinking a lot about those mushrooms! But as this café is not on our doorstep I thought I would experiment and see if I could recreate those amazing mushrooms at home and considering that this was the first time I’ve ever cooked mushrooms I was so thrilled with the result that I thought I’d share it with you on my blog.

DSC_6004

Mushrooms with cheese on toast is not a fancy meal and it certainly isn’t as epic as the breakfast I had in the Federal Cafe & Bar, but food is all about having fun and experimenting. So having been so inspired by that breakfast I can’t wait to experiment with a whole host of different mushrooms. And next time I’m even going to have a go at making my own dukkha mix.

Ingredients: serves one

  • 4-5 chestnut mushrooms (depending on their size)
  • 1tbsp coconut oil
  • ½ – 1tbsp squeezy garlic
  • 1tsp lemon juice
  • ½tsp dried thyme (or fresh if you have it to hand)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2-3 slices of halloumi cheese
  • 2 slices of multi-seeded bread

Method

  1. Clean and prepare the mushrooms then slice in half.
  2. On a medium-low heat melt the coconut oil and add the garlic for a few seconds.
  3. Add the mushrooms and cook for five minutes. While the mushrooms are cooking cut the halloumi into thick slices and cook on a griddle pan with a little coconut oil. The cheese is ready when both sides are charred. This will take about five minutes.
  4. Add the lemon juice and thyme, and season with salt and pepper.
  5. Lightly toast the bread then transfer to a plate. Spoon the mushrooms over the toast and add the cheese.

Suz x

