Tags

,

DSC_5841Hi there,

I’ve been trying to reduce my sugar content over the last 18 months, mostly choosing products where the sugar content is less than 5g per 100g. However, this has proved to be more difficult than I imagined, not because I can’t bear to live without sugar but it’s a task in itself trying to actually find products that contain little or no sugar.

DSC_5778

One product that I found below 5% per 100g was peanut butter, which is something I’d previously avoided but which has now become an essential ingredient in the shhdonttellhim kitchen as I use it in all kinds of things. From homemade granola, mint truffles, quinoa porridge and raw brownies to simply spreading on a bagel it is just so versatile.

DSC_5782

However, even though there is little sugar in the peanut butter we bought there are still some hidden nasties in the form of palm oil and at £3.20 a jar (although to be fair it’s a pretty big jar at 454g) it’s quite an expensive habit. We recently decided to switch to almond butter as this has no palm oil and less sugar, but again this is pretty expensive and you get a lot less for your money.

DSC_5784

So of course there was only one alternative and I can’t believe I didn’t think of it sooner…and that was to make my own. This recipe, which is taken from my all-time favourite book – Whole Food Energy is probably the easiest and shortest recipe that will feature on my blog and is great for people who want to know exactly what they’re eating. Plus the chance to experiment with flavours is endless.

DSC_5781

DSC_5787

I used 350g mixed nuts and a pinch of Himalayan pink salt, which helps to regulate your blood sugar, to make up the peanut butter and I also added 1tbsp coconut oil to help loosen up the nut mixture. This makes the peanut butter the perfect consistency for spreading and means it doesn’t feel claggy on the tongue. This amount fills a 170g jar as well as 1/2 ramekin and lasts for around 10 days in the fridge.

DSC_5788

DSC_5801

Homemade sugar-free granola is part of my weekly routine so I can see this recipe being a fortnightly task as I’m completely sold on the idea of making my own peanut butter as it tastes absolutely fab. In terms of cost I paid £3.58 for 400g mixed nuts from LIDL, so while it’s slightly more expensive than the Whole Earth peanut butter (£3.20 for 454g) it is cheaper than the Meridian almond butter, which costs £3.95 for 170g. I haven’t included the cost of the salt (£2.95) or the coconut oil (£3.99) as these are staples in our household and always to hand.

Ingredients:

  • 350g nuts (I used mixed nuts with cashews, walnuts, almonds and hazelnuts)
  • 1tbsp melted coconut oil (optional)

Method:

  1. Add the nuts and salt in a food processor and blend for five minutes. Scrape the mixture down the sides and blend for another five minutes until the mixture goes from a crumbly consistency to a smooth one.
  2. Continue to process the mixture until it resembles a nut butter.
  3. For a creamier butter add the melted coconut oil until you’re happy with the consistency.

Salted caramel peanut butter (almonds and dates) is next on my to-do list alongside the chocolate hazelnut version and I for one can’t wait.

Basic nut butter: total carbs 3g: Sugars 2g: Protein 3g

Suz x

