Tags

, ,

DSC_5269

Hi there,

Having found the perfect chocolate sponge cake recipe I’ve been reluctant to give it up so with a 60th birthday on the horizon there was only ever one cake in the running. The last time I made this cake I filled it with an amazing passion fruit mousse and covered it with an indulgent chocolate buttercream.

DSC_2270

DSC_5226

DSC_5225

This time I decided to mix things up by filling and covering the sponge with an Oreo cookie buttercream, which probably doesn’t look as appetizing as the chocolate and passion fruit cake, but the taste more than makes up for it.

DSC_5228

DSC_5229

DSC_5232

DSC_5234

I also decided that I wouldn’t completely follow the recipe as per usual. It was only once I’d bought all the ingredients that I realised that this cake makes up four sponges and not two like I’d originally thought. So although this was for a special birthday I think four layers is a bit much, especially when you add all the buttercream into the mix. In the end I kept it simple and left it as a two-layer cake.

DSC_5239

DSC_5242

DSC_5243

DSC_5256

This is a relatively simple cake to make, but it tastes absolutely amazing and is well worth the effort. The sponge was soft, fluffy and moist, and the buttercream was surprisingly moreish. I was expecting this cake to be overbearingly sweet, but it was wonderfully balanced and I will definitely make it again.

DSC_5268

DSC_5277

I’d love to find a vanilla sponge which uses buttermilk and vegetable oil so cue lots of experimenting!

Recipe

Suz x

