Tags

, ,

DSC_5292

Hi there,

I love hot chocolate, but I very rarely drink it anymore as I find it far too sweet. However, while I was browsing through one of my books last weekend I came across a great little recipe for mint hot chocolate using cacao powder and almond milk and as I had all the ingredients in (shock horror!) I thought I would give it a shot.

DSC_5283

DSC_5286

DSC_5288

DSC_5293

The cake is obviously just for photographic purposes…

This drink takes a matter of minutes to make and I was expecting it to be a bit thin and weak tasting. However, I was pleasantly surprised with how tasty it was. If you’re used to full on hot chocolate with all the works you may not appreciate the taste, but if like me you’re always on the look out for something that gives you a chocolate hit without all the calories then you’ll probably enjoy it. Although I enjoyed the mint flavour I’m definitely looking forward to experimenting with both an orange and a cherry flavoured hot chocolate.

Ingredients:

  • 240ml unsweetened plant milk
  • 1½tbsp cacao powder
  • 1tbsp maple or date syrup
  • Drop of mint extract
  • Pinch of sea salt

Method:

  1. Place the milk and cacao powder in a small saucepan over a medium-high heat. Stir to dissolve the cacao powder.
  2. Mix in the syrup and mint extract. Bring to a simmer.
  3. Remove from the heat, taste and adjust as needed.

Total calories: 116 | Total carbs: 20g | Sugars: 8g | Protein: 3g

Recipe taken from Whole Food Energy, which is probably my all time favourite cook book.

Suz x

