Tags

, ,

DSC_5325

Hi there,

With a fridge full of strawberries and blueberries I thought I would have another attempt at making these coconut pancakes, having failed miserably a few weeks back. The first time I made these pancakes I followed the recipe to the letter, but the batter was so thin and runny that all I ended up with was a few wafer thin pancakes.

DSC_5081

DSC_5083

DSC_5085

DSC_5086

This time I decided I would use what ingredients I had in (semi-skimmed milk) and hope for the best. Again the batter was far too thin and runny, even though I left out the water so I added more coconut flour until the batter had more depth, but I still wasn’t happy with the consistency as it was grainy rather than glossy, smooth and thick.

DSC_5321

DSC_5322

DSC_5324

DSC_5323

After melting some coconut oil in a frying pan I then added 1tbsp of the mixture and left it to cook for a few minutes. Although I was waiting for the mixture to bubble up I wasn’t prepared to see such big bubbles that I could see the underside of the frying pan. So I was sure at this point that the pancakes were just going to disintegrate. However, I persevered and thankfully the mixture stayed together enough that I could flip them over to cook on the other side.

DSC_5326

I think these pancakes tasted nice, but I wouldn’t make the effort to make them a third time as I find the batter really hard to work with. The texture of these pancakes is not as good as buttermilk pancakes. I thought they were a bit dry and grainy, but I think this was down to them being a little overcooked as it was really difficult to keep the mixture together enough so that I could flip them over.  That said, with a few strawberries, blueberries, lemon cream and date syrup they went down pretty quick!

Ingredients: serves 4

  • 2 large eggs
  • 100ml coconut milk
  • 125ml cold water
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • 1tbsp stevia
  • 50g coconut flour
  • 1tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1tbsp coconut oil
  • salt

Method:

  1. Crack the eggs into a bowl, then add the coconut milk, water, vanilla, stevia, flour and bicarb of soda and season with a pinch of salt. Whisk to a smooth batter, then leave to rest for a moment.
  2. Heat the oil in a large frying pan over a medium heat. Pour in a tablespoon of the batter, leave to settle for a moment then add another two tablespoons, allowing a little space between them. Fry for two minutes or until the bottom is light brown and the sides are set. Carefully flip the pancakes and cook for another two minutes.
  3. Transfer the pancakes to a warm serving plate while you cook the remaining pancakes. Top the pancakes with fruit, syrup, yogurt or cream.

Suz x

