Tags

, ,

DSC_5123

Hi there,

Chocolate mousse is normally a big no-no in the shhdonttellhim kitchen or if we are eating out as I hate food with no texture. However, I absolutely love avocado so I thought I would make an exception just this once when I spotted a speedy chocolate avocado mousse recipe in my low sugar recipe book.

DSC_5116

DSC_5117

This recipe requires very few ingredients (even less if like me you’re only making enough for two people) and with my trusty processor on hand it takes a matter of minutes to make. Even though I’m not a big fan of chocolate mousse I thought I would try to make it slightly more interesting by adding the lime element, although I’m not sure how successful this was.  DSC_5119

I made this mousse the same afternoon as my waffle mixture with the intentions of having it as a dessert that evening. However, it has to be said the taste left a lot to be desired. The avocado was a tad overpowering and the lime taste was pretty non-existent. I did try to rescue the mousse by adding more vanilla and date syrup to try and combat the bitter taste, but then this ruined the low sugar healthy element.

DSC_5146

So the question is what do you do with two ramekins full of barely editable tasting mousse? I pondered the question overnight and hit upon the idea to serve it with my waffles. And to a degree this tactic worked. It didn’t taste so bad when used as an accompaniment. I also used this as a chocolate spread on my wheat-free organic crackers the next day and it wasn’t so terrible. So while I didn’t get through all the mousse I gave it a good shot.

DSC_5122

I have to say the texture was spot on with this mousse. It was really rich and creamy and while this recipe wasn’t completely successful, and I probably wouldn’t make it again, I was glad that I gave it a whirl.

Ingredients: serves 4

  • 2 ripe avocados, peeled, stone and roughly chopped
  • 35g cocoa powder
  • 2tbsp rice malt syrup (I used date syrup)
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • 2tbsp unsweetened almond milk

Method:

  1. Put all the ingredients in a blender or food processor and process until combined and the mousse is airy. If the mixture is too thick add more almond milk.
  2. Spoon the mousse into small teacups or ramekins and serve immediately, or cover and chill for up to four hours.

Suz x

 

