Tags

, , ,

DSC_5148

Hi there,

I’ve spent quite a bit of time in the shhdonttellhim kitchen over the last few weeks trying out lots of new recipes, some worked out really well and others still need a bit of tinkering. Today I thought I would blog about the recipe ‘that worked’.

I’m a big fan of pancakes and although I’ve had a few fails over the years I’ve finally found a recipe that works every time thanks to a blog called Once Upon a Chef. Having spent some time browsing the recipe list I came across a waffle recipe which really appealed to me as this is something I’ve never made before. The only downside is that I don’t have a waffle maker.

So after the bookmarking the recipe I finally came back to it the weekend before last as I discovered that you could make waffles in a griddle pan, which is a bonus. I’m pretty sure the texture will be completely different, but I wasn’t going to let that stop me.

DSC_5126

DSC_5135

DSC_5137

One thing that always strikes me when making pancakes is how much time it takes to prepare and cook so what I like about this recipe is that you can make the batter up to 24 hours before. I made my batter up on a Saturday afternoon and left it to chill in the fridge overnight so that I could whip up the perfect Sunday morning breakfast. The batter was the perfect consistency and I was looking forward to seeing whether this would be an amazing breakfast or a complete disaster.

DSC_5146

DSC_5150

Thankfully the breakfast gods must have been looking down on me that day as all the waffles turned out amazingly well and they were really tasty. My waffles slightly resembled the look of a pancake, but they definitely tasted different. I might not have had any maple syrup to slather them in, but I think natural yogurt, blueberries, chocolate lime avocado mousse, date syrup and toffee apple curd was more than enough compensation.

DSC_5138

DSC_5143

In my opinion there are two downsides to cooking waffles in a griddle pan. The first is getting the amount of batter right. When I started my waffles were huge (1/2 cup) but I reduced the mixture slightly (1/4 cup approx) and the size was a lot more manageable.

DSC_5145

The second downside is that you can only cook one waffle at a time so at 6-7 minutes per waffle it soon adds up to a lengthy waiting time even when the batter is made up. However, I won’t let that put me off in the future and I’m sure I’ll be making these again at some point.

For the recipe click here
for instructions on how to make waffles using a griddle pan click here.

Suz x

