Tags

, , ,

DSC_4920

Hi there,

Anything with the words fudge and brownie always appeals to my chocaholic self so when I was experimenting with the raw apricot and cashew bars a few weeks back it wasn’t long before I was making up a batch of raw fudgy brownie bars as one of the best things about this recipe is the fact they literally take minutes to whizz up in a food processor.

DSC_4836

DSC_4837

DSC_4838

DSC_4841

DSC_4855

DSC_4856

Unsurprisingly I had to deviate slightly from the recipe as I haven’t managed to get hold of all the ingredients just yet. So for my first attempt I added almonds, walnuts, vanilla extract, normal dates (soaked in water to fatten them up), cocoa powder, chocolate chips and whizzed them up with some date syrup. But unfortunately I didn’t add enough moisture so these bars didn’t bind together as much as I would have liked. I was hoping once they’d been squashed and pressed in the tin for over an hour they would be fine, but they were still too crumbly and broke up really easily.

DSC_4912

DSC_4913

Undaunted I decided to try again but this time I left out the chocolate chips and added some prunes, figs and water to the previous ingredients as well as some pistachios and pulsed them until the mixture started to clump together. My second attempt was much better as the bars stayed together and with the inclusion of the prunes and figs they were really moist.

DSC_4916

I love eating these bars as they taste great. And as well as having a bit of texture they are much healthier and filling when compared with a standard chocolate/breakfast bar.

DSC_4918

I will definitely be making these bars again, but next time I will be using all the correct ingredients as I want to compare the taste and texture.

Original recipe:

  • 75g almonds
  • 50g walnuts
  • 60g pitted medjool dates
  • 1tbsp almond butter
  • 25g raw cacao powder or unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2tbsp cacao nibs
  • ½ tsp pure vanilla extract
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • 1tbsp crushed nuts

Method:

  1. Line a 23 x 12.5cm (9 x 5 in) loaf tin with baking paper.
  2. Place the nuts in a food processor and pulse until finely chopped, with some small chunks remaining.
  3. Add the remaining ingredients, bar the crushed nuts topping, and pulse until the ingredients start to stick together. Don’t pulse until smooth as it’s the texture which helps hold the bars together.
  4. Transfer the mixture to the loaf tin and press the mixture down. Sprinkle the nuts on top and then cover with the baking paper.
  5. Place the bars in the fridge for 1 hour before slicing into 8 individual bars.

Raw cheesecake

Next on my list of healthy alternatives is a raw chocolate orange cheesecake, which should hopefully look like the one I enjoyed eating a few weeks back!

Suz x

