Tags

, , , ,

   DSC_4981

Hi there,

After several months of eating a toasted cinnamon and raisin bagel for breakfast I figured that it was about time that I tried something different so having spent the past couple of weeks experimenting in the shhdonttelhim kitchen I can finally share my thoughts about alternative porridge recipes. I have tried three different recipes over the past couple of weeks and I pretty much came to the same conclusion. Porridge may look grim, but there are lots of ways to jazz it up and thankfully for me two out of the three recipes were really tasty and will be staying on the menu as I liked them so much.

DSC_4721

Low sugar porridge

DSC_4717

Low sugar porridge (2)

For my first attempt I wanted to ease my way into the world of porridge so I opted to follow a simple low sugar porridge recipe. Out of the three recipes this was my least favourite as it took the longest to cook in the morning and it didn’t taste that great when compared to the other two, even when I jazzed it up with blueberries, seeds, nuts and homemade granola.

DSC_4804

DSC_4805

By day two I was heartily sick of the low sugar porridge so I decided to use my Whole Food Energy book and have a go at making some quinoa porridge. This recipe really intrigued me as although I’ve had quinoa in the past I would never have thought to make porridge with it. There was a little bit more work involved as you have to wash the quinoa several times before cooking, but the good thing about this is that it can be done the evening before and in the morning it’s just a case of warming the quinoa alongside some unsweetened plant milk. To this I added grated apple, cinnamon and walnuts, and I was amazed at how tasty and filling quinoa porridge is.

DSC_4810

DSC_4812

DSC_4926

I also felt a bit more alert during the course of the morning, which is always a bonus. Having cooked enough quinoa to last me four days I was expecting to get fed up of this recipe after the first two. However, apart from getting rid of the apple I was more than happy to have this each morning as the quinoa has a nutty taste and the texture isn’t too soft and squishy.

DSC_4885

DSC_4886

DSC_4888

Overnight oats with cranberries, chia seeds and sesame seeds

After four days of quinoa porridge I decided that the following week I’d try my third and final porridge recipe – overnight oats. This recipe says you need to soak the oats overnight in unsweetened plant milk along with whatever extras you’re adding, in my case it was fresh ginger, chia seeds, cranberries and sesame seeds. I have to admit that this looked the worst out of all the recipes so I decided to warm it through the next morning and although it looked pretty dry it was incredibly moist and very satisfying. It was also the quickest to prepare and cook, which is great if you don’t have much time in the morning.

DSC_4891

So to sum up the quinoa porridge was definitely my favourite in terms of texture and taste, but the overnight oats was definitely up there. I’m not sure if I could stomach the overnight oats cold, but if you’re looking for a healthy, hearty, quick and easy breakfast or even lunch this is a great alternative.

Quinoa porridge

Ingredients:

  • 125g cooked quinoa
  • 120ml unsweetened plant milk
  • ½ chopped apple
  • ½tsp ground cinnamon
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • Maple syrup or date syrup to taste
  • 1 tbsp chopped hazelnuts or walnuts

Method:

  1. Heat the cooked quinoa, plant-based milk, apple, cinnamon, salt, and maple or date syrup, in a saucepan over a medium heat.
  2. Once warm, place in a bowl and top with the chopped nuts or other additional toppings.

Overnight oats

Ingredients:

  • 1tbsp cashew or almond butter
  • 50g rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp maple or date syrup
  • 120ml unsweetened plant or cashew milk
  • ¼ – ½ tsp grated fresh ginger
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • 110g fresh blueberries or other toppings

Method:

  1. In the evening, mix the nut butter, oats, syrup, milk, ginger and salt together in the bowl. Add the fruit or other ingredients, mix and leave overnight.
  2. In the morning stir again and top with more fruit. Can be eaten cold or warm.

Suz x

