Tags

, ,

DSC_4710

Hi there,

I’ve had this post sitting in my inbox for months now so I thought it was about time I posted it so I can get round to writing the second part.

Spaghetti Bolognese seems to be everyone’s favourite midweek meal, except me. I’m not sure why, but I’ve never been a fan of spag bol. However, my Husband loves it so he’s spent a lot of time and effort trying various recipes over the years in a bid to change my opinion. And it’s only now that he’s finally found a recipe (with a few tweaks of course!) good enough to convince me to not only eat the stuff, but enjoy it on a regular basis. As well as tasting good one of the best things about this recipe is that you can freeze it so my Husband always makes extra so that we’ve got a quick meal to go at after a hectic day at work.

DSC_4699

DSC_4704

I’m a big fan of Donna Hay, but this is the first time we’ve used one of her recipes. However, the key to an amazing spa bol, rather than an average one in my opinion is the longer cooking time, which is in direct contrast to the recipe. I have no idea how she gets 800g of tinned tomatoes and 250ml of wine to reduce down in just seven minutes, so my Husband makes this the night before and simmers it on a low heat till it reduces down to a lovely thick consistency.

DSC_4708

DSC_4707

We also use turkey mince instead of chicken mince as it’s a lot cheaper and easier to get hold of, and red wine instead of white. And finally as my Husband is not keen on spaghetti he uses a mixture of chilli and wholemeal penne pasta, which may be controversial to some! Like me, my Husband likes to tinker around with recipes so the ingredients below are just a rough guide. The amount of pasta can be reduced or increased depending on how hungry you are.

DSC_4711

DSC_4400

DSC_4401

Ingredients: serves four

  • 2 tsp oil
  • ½ an onion finally chopped
  • A squeeze of garlic puree
  • 500g turkey mince
  • 250ml dry white wine or red wine
  • 2x 400g tinned chopped tomatoes
  • Sea salt and cracked black pepper
  • 200g chilli penne pasta
  • 200g wholemeal penne pasta
  • Grated parmesan

Method:

  1. Heat the oil in a nonstick frying pan and add the onion and garlic. Cook until the onion has softened.
  2. Add the mince and cook until browned (around 5-7 minutes)
  3. Add the wine, tomatoes, salt and pepper and simmer on a low heat until the sauce has reduced down and thickened up.
  4. Cook the pasta as per the instructions then drain. Add the pasta to the pan with the mince and combine until all the pasta is coated with the sauce.

However, if you’d prefer to make the original recipe you can find it on the Daily Mail website.

Suz x

