Tags

, ,

  DSC_4956

Hi there,

I’ve been experimenting with lots of healthy recipes of late. However, as its Easter I thought I would treat myself and my family by baking a big fat chocolate cake. I can’t remember the last time I had a piece of chocolate cake and as I’ve never made a chocolate tray bake before it seemed like the perfect opportunity to indulge as I won’t be having any chocolate eggs again this year.

DSC_4933

DSC_4934

DSC_4935

DSC_4936

DSC_4939

This recipe also appealed to me because it uses vegetable oil which always makes the sponge really light and fluffy. Another bonus with this recipe is the fact that it only takes just over two hours to prepare and cook so it’s a good one to have on standby if you need a cake quickly.

DSC_4940

DSC_4944

DSC_4946

And this is a cracking cake to have on hand as it’s rich, dark and completely decadent. The only problem is that one square is not enough! My work colleagues have been nagging me for a cake so I will definitely be making this to take in for them. One thing I would do differently though would be to add more icing as I think the cake can take more and I’m sure my work colleagues would appreciate it.

DSC_4948

DSC_4950

DSC_4952

DSC_4955

DSC_4957

DSC_4958

This recipe was taken from last weekend’s You Magazine so I’m not sure if it’s available online yet so I’ve listed the recipe below.

Ingredients:

  • 75g cocoa powder
  • ¾ bicarb of soda
  • 4 medium eggs
  • 180ml vegetable oil
  • 370g light brown muscovado sugar
  • 200g self-raising flour (sifted)
  • 150g dark chocolate (about 50% cocoa)
  • 3tbsp milk
  • Mini eggs to decorate

Method:

  1. In a bowl add the cocoa powder, 200ml of boiling water and whisk together. Add the bicarb of soda, whisk again and leave to cool for 20 minutes.
  2. Preheat the oven to 180C/160C fan/gas 4 and prepare the tin (30cm x 23cm and 4cm deep) with butter, veg oil or baking parchment.
  3. In a bowl whisk the eggs, sugar and oil together until well mixed
  4. Fold in the self-raising flour and the cocoa solution, then pour the mixture into the prepared tin.
  5. Bake in the oven for 30-40 minutes or until risen and a skewer comes out clean.
  6. If not using baking parchment run a knife around the edge of the tin and leave to cool.
  7. Melt the chocolate and milk in a bowl over a saucepan of boiling water.
  8. When the chocolate has melted use a palette knife to cover the cake, top with mini eggs and leave to set before cutting.
  9. Cut into squares or bars. They will keep in an airtight container for several days.

Suz x

