Tags

, ,

DSC_4846

Hi there,

I love getting new recipe books, but there’s one book that I’ve completely fallen in love with and which continues to inspire and motivate me to try new things. This book is called Whole Food Energy by Elise Museles and since buying it a few weeks back I’ve been adding quite a few new and different ingredients like coconut butter and flour to my shopping list.DSC_4752

DSC_4751

DSC_4821

DSC_4822

DSC_4824

I’m a big fan of energy balls so I couldn’t wait to make the cover recipe from this book. This recipe is right up my street as I love using my food processor and you couldn’t get a simpler recipe to follow, although I did tweak the recipe slightly to fit in with what ingredients I had in.

DSC_4825

DSC_4848

DSC_4845

These bars are great for when you need a pick me up as they are perfect at keeping you satisfied for longer and they are a great source of fibre and iron. I’ve been trying to reduce my sugar intake so I love that these don’t taste too sweet. I’ve already got a second batch sitting in the fridge alongside some raw fudgy brownie bars, but that recipe is for next time.

Ingredients:

  • 175g cashews
  • 150g dried apricots
  • 25g pitted Medjool dates ( I used standard dates)
  • 1 tbsp cashew butter (I used coconut and peanut butter)
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extra ( I used date syrup)
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • Shredded coconut on top (I used flaked coconut)

Method:

  1. Line a 23 x 12.5cm (9 x 5 in) loaf tin with baking paper.
  2. Place the nuts in a food processor and pulse until finely chopped, with some small chunks remaining.
  3. Add the remaining ingredients, bar the coconut topping, and pulse until the ingredients start to stick together. Don’t pulse until smooth as it’s the texture which helps hold the bars together.
  4. Transfer the mixture to the loaf tin and press the mixture down. Sprinkle the coconut on top and then cover with the baking paper.
  5. Place the bars in the fridge for 1 hour before slicing into 8 individual bars.

Suz x

