Tags

, ,

DSC_4772

Hi there,

It’s been a few weeks since my last post so I thought I’d get back into the swing of things with a quick and simple recipe for Chocolate Heavies. Although I’d never heard of these before I was excited to make them for Mother’s Day, along with some Ecclesfechan butter tarts and some healthy chocolate truffles.

DSC_4759

DSC_4767

DSC_4760

DSC_4761

DSC_4763

Chocolate Heavies are classed as biscuits, but it’s actually a dough based recipe so I was intrigued to discover whether they would have a crisp texture or whether they would have the same texture as a cookie.

DSC_4769

DSC_4777

DSC_4781

DSC_4773

I was really pleased with how these biscuits turned out as it’s not often my biscuits turn out just like the picture in the recipe book. I was also surprised at how fluffy and light these biscuits were, and I have to say they were incredibly moreish, especially when they’d just come out of the oven. Even though lard is a bit naughty I will definitely be making these again.

Ingredients:

  • 225g self-raising flour
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 50g unsalted butter, diced
  • 50g lard, diced
  • 75g caster sugar
  • 75g chocolate chips
  • 40ml milk
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten, to glaze

Method:

  1. Mix the flour and salt in a bowl, add the butter and lard and rub them with your fingertips until they resemble breadcrumbs. This process can also be done in a food processor.
  2. Stir in the sugar and chocolate chips, then add enough milk to bring the mixture together into a dough. Wrap in cling film and rest in the fridge for 20 minutes.
  3. Heat the oven to 190º/Gas 5. Line two baking trays with baking paper.
  4. On a lightly floured surface roll out the dough to a 5mm thickness and cut out circles using a 6.5cm cutter.
  5. Place the circles on the lined trays and brush with the beaten egg. Bake for 10 minutes or until the biscuits are golden brown. Leave on the baking trays for a few minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool.
  6. These biscuits are best eaten fresh.

Suz x

