Tags

, ,

DSC_4553

Hi there,

Today I’m back with another baking post, but this time it’s something slightly different in that it’s a savoury version of a summer classic.

When I think of making scones I always think of the sweet variety slathered with strawberry jam and cream, so when my husband asked me to make some savoury ones I have to admit that I wasn’t keen at first. However, the recipe and ingredient list was simple enough so after getting all the ingredients in I decided to make them on Sunday afternoon and I’m so glad I did as I’d forgotten how nice savoury scones actually are.

DSC_4544

DSC_4545

DSC_4546

DSC_4548

DSC_4549

These scones take about an hour to prepare and bake, and are so soft, crumbly and fresh tasting. In the past I’ve only made cheese scones, but I really enjoyed the bacon and leek combination. And, with the inclusion of English mustard and cayenne pepper they are pretty fiery as well.

DSC_4550

DSC_4552

DSC_4555

I think these scones are great on their own with some nice butter, but I also think they’d be great dipped into some soup or filled with some chicken and pesto. For once I didn’t tweak the recipe other than adding a bit less cayenne pepper, but I’m not sure what the Earl Grey added as I didn’t think this came through in the finished scone.

DSC_4556

DSC_4558

DSC_4560

I will definitely be making these scones again, but next time I might play around with some of the flavours and add salami, chorizo or salmon instead of bacon and fennel or onion instead of leek. And when it comes to cheese there are also endless possibilities to choose from; be it smoked cheese, goats cheese or a lovely creamy blue.

DSC_4562

This is the first recipe I’ve made from the readers recipes in the Good Food Magazine, which sadly isn’t on the website so here it is in full.

Ingredients:

  • 225g self-raising flour
  • 2 Earl Grey tea bags
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 2 rashers of bacon ( I used lardons)
  • 1 small leek, finely chopped
  • 50g butter
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 50ml milk, plus extra for brushing
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp English mustard
  • 75g strong cheese, grated

Method:

  1. Heat the oven to 200C/180C fan/gas 6 and lightly dust a baking tray with flour. Put the tea bags in a small heatproof jug, cover with 50ml boiling water, then allow to steep.
  2. Heat the oil in a frying pan over a medium heat and add the bacon. Cook for five minutes until golden. Stir in the leek and cook for another five minutes until the leek is softened and the bacon is cooked through. Remove from the heat and set aside to cool.
  3. in a large bowl, combine the butter, cayenne pepper, flour and 1/2 tsp of black pepper, then rub together with your fingertips until it resembles bread crumbs. Remove the tea bags from the jug and add the milk, syrup and mustard to the liquid in the jug. Stir well, then slowly pour into the dry ingredients, combining with a knife. Fold in the leek mixture, plus the cheese.
  4. Tip out the mixture onto a lightly floured surface and bring together with your hands. Divide into eight scones, then put on the baking tray, brushing the tops with milk. Bake in the centre of the oven for 18-20 minutes until risen and golden brown. Will keep in the fridge for 3 days.

Suz x

