Tags

, , ,

DSC_4490

Hi there,

I’m a big fan of homemade pesto as not only does it taste so much better than the ones you get out of a jar, but it’s just so versatile, easy to make and doesn’t require too many ingredients. Although I’ve featured a few pesto recipes on my blog I realised over the weekend that I haven’t written about my favourite red pesto recipe before. So as I was making up a fresh batch over the weekend I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to share the recipe with you.

DSC_3640

I love green pesto, but red pesto is definitely my favorite as I think it’s more suited to the recipes I make on a regular basis. My favourite ways to use red pesto include: smothering over salmon, mixing with pasta or wholemeal noodles, coating turkey steaks and using on my cheat’s pizza, either as part of the base or drizzled over the top.

DSC_3989

Another bonus point is this recipe freezes really well so as this recipe fills up two large ramekins I always freeze one to save for later. I found this recipe online so I only have the measurements in cups rather than grams.

DSC_4482

DSC_4483

DSC_4485

DSC_4489

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of fresh basil
  • ½ cup of sundried tomatoes (drained)
  • ½ cup of walnuts
  • 1-2 tsp garlic puree (depends on personal preference)
  • ½ cup grated parmesan or any hard cheese (I use Grana Padano)
  • ½ olive oil (I use the oil from the sundried tomatoes)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

DSC_4496

Method:

  1. Add the basil, tomatoes and garlic to a food processor and pulse for a few seconds or until everything in broken down.
  2. Add the cheese, walnuts, ¼ cup of olive oil and blend well.
  3. Add the remaining oil, salt and pepper, and pulse until smooth.
  4. Store in the fridge or freeze.

DSC_4494

I have experimented with this recipe leaving the nuts a bit chunkier to add texture, but I think it tastes much better when everything is blended really well and the pesto is completely smooth.

The original recipe can be found here.

Suz x

