Tags

,

DSC_3695

Hi there,

So today I’m back with a super quick baking post.

In between a weekend of re-organising my make up, shoes and Good Food magazines a tweet popped up in my twitter feed that I just couldn’t ignore and so on Sunday afternoon I decided to make some cherry bakewell biscuits. The original recipe was for cranberry and pistachio, but as I didn’t have these in I decided to switch it up and use cherries, flaked almonds and almond extract instead.

DSC_3669

DSC_3671

DSC_3673

DSC_3675

DSC_3678

DSC_3680

DSC_3685

This is a really easy recipe which doesn’t require too many ingredients and is perfect if you want to do some baking, but you don’t have much time. It’s also really flexible and so you can easily adapt it to suit what ingredients you’ve got in your cupboard. For example a Christmas version of raisins, mixed nuts and mixed spice might be a fun alternative or if you’re not keen on mixed spice then you could try adding some orange extract.

DSC_3694

I cooked my biscuits for 12 minutes and they were just starting to brown around the edges so next time I would be tempted to check them after 11 minutes. However, I was still happy with the end results as these biscuits were light and crumbly and tasted lovely. The almond extract did come through, but I think I could have got away with adding either ¾ – 1 tsp of the extract to give them even more of an almond boost.

DSC_3698

To make the original cranberry and pistachio biscuits just replace the almond extract with the vanilla extract and the cherries and almonds with dried cranberries and pistachios.

Ingredients:

  • 225g plain flour
  • ½ tsp almond extract
  • 175g softened butter
  • 75g glace cherries (chopped)
  • 75g flaked almonds
  • 85g caster sugar

Method:

  1. Line a baking tray with baking parchment
  2. Mix the butter, sugar and extract with a wooden spoon
  3. Stir in the flour, then add the cherries and almonds and mix to form a dough – you may need to use your hands to bring together the dough
  4. Halve the dough and shape each half into a log 5cm across
  5. Wrap up in cling film and leave to chill in the fridge for one hour
  6. Heat the oven to 180C/160C Fan/gas 4.
  7. Slice the dough into 1cm-thick rounds, place on the baking tray and bake for 12-15 minutes.
  8. Leave to cool completely on the tray.

Suz x

