Tags

, , , , , ,

DSC_0428

Hi there,

It’s been a while since we’ve had any healthy dishes on the blog so I thought I’d show a little love to one of my favourite things; kale. Now kale might not sound or look all that interesting, but it’s such a fail-safe back up when it comes to evening and weekend meals. Not only is it healthy to eat, but it’s so versatile and more importantly it costs less than £1 a bag so it won’t break the bank. I always like to experiment my food so have used kale in the following ways:

Idea 1: Boiled

DSC_2868

If you’re looking for something quick and easy to accompany a roast dinner or a midweek evening meal then just place the kale in some boiling water for five minutes and once it’s cooked add a twist of salt and pepper, or if you’re feeling indulgent a bit of butter.

Idea 2: Stir fry

DSC_2947

With any type of marinated meat I like to make it more interesting by adding a kale stir-fry on the side. So in a frying pan (on a low heat) add some oil and fry off onions, tomatoes, peppers, sundried tomatoes and kale. Once it’s cooked I like to add a twist of salt, pepper and crushed chilli, but you could include garlic and lemon zest/juice to give it a bit more zing.

DSC_2701

DSC_2704Idea 3: Pesto

DSC_0429

I love fresh pesto and kale pesto is a particularly good alternative if you have a big bag to get through. Kale pesto is made in exactly the same way as normal pesto and I like to use it alongside pasta, carrot ribbons, on top of salmon and trout (although any type of fish would work) as well inside fresh bread like pesto whirls.

DSC_1545

DSC_1436

DSC_1285

Idea 4: Crisps

DSC_3006

Crisps are definitely my downfall and I love all types, especially vegetable crisps. So as I had some kale that needed using up I decided to make some kale crisps. These are so quick and easy to make and are ideal for snacking on.

DSC_3009

Just add bite sized pieces (no stems) to a lined baking sheet and roast in the oven (350 degrees F/175 degrees C) for 10-15 minutes until the edges are brown, but not burnt. Then when they’re done season to taste.

However, you need to eat them as soon as they come out of the oven while they’re still crisp. I made the mistake of taking some to work, but they had gone a bit limp so were quite difficult to eat. I also made a bigger mistake in not washing out the pot straightaway. Needless to say they don’t half pong when left in an airtight container!

Idea 5: Mash/potato cakes

Mash is always a good option to bulk out a meal so to make it a bit more interesting I like to add fried onions and boiled kale alongside a good dollop of butter or if I want more flavor I’ll add garlic and mustard (powder/Dijon or wholegrain all work well). This mash also makes a good topping when covering fish, cottage and Shepherds pies. And if mash is not your thing then the same recipe can easily be turned into some tasty potato cakes.

As far as I’m concerned kale is king and I’m sure I’ll have fun experimenting with it even more in the future!

Suz x

