Tags

, , , , ,

DSC_2904

Hi there,

Last Sunday afternoon proved to be very productive and after making some soda bread I then made some cakes to take into work. It’s a tradition in our office that when it’s your birthday you have to provide the cakes so this year I decided to make a lemon drizzle cake and a treacle spice traybake. I had planned on making some chocolate orange fork biscuits but decided to forgo these when I saw how big the traybake was.

DSC_2852

DSC_2853

I’m not the biggest fan of lemon drizzle cake and judging by how the cake turned out I think it’s pretty safe to say this will be the last lemon drizzle cake I make! For some reason the cake sunk in the middle and I’m not sure if this was something I did wrong or if it’s an issue with the recipe. However, I’m going to blame Mary Berry as she says in the recipe book that if the cake sinks in the middle just top with cream and fruit and serve as a dessert so she obviously knows that it has a tendency to sink!

DSC_2861

To rub salt into the wounds I almost forgot to add the lemon zest and the crunchy topping didn’t work out as well as I’d hoped. I faithfully followed the recipe and although the cake was moist it was far too sweet and didn’t have that lemon tartness I was expecting. The finished cake looked awful, but I somehow managed to rescue the cake once I’d cut it into squares so it at least looked presentable and edible.

DSC_2883

Thankfully I had a lot more success with the treacle traybake which was strange because although I used slightly different ingredients I followed exactly the same method as the lemon drizzle cake.

DSC_2897

This is a great cake to share with work colleagues or friends as it’s a pretty big cake. I really like the texture of this cake as it’s incredibly light and fluffy so it’s perfect with a cup of tea or you could jazz it up by turning it into a dessert with a nice toffee or treacle sauce or just simply pile on some indulgent toffee or vanilla buttercream or cream cheese frosting.

DSC_2888

DSC_2900

To make the Treacle Spice Traybake:

Equipment:

  • 30 x 23cm (12 x 9in) traybake or roasting tin

Ingredients:

  • 225g softened butter
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 225g black treacle
  • 275g self-raising flour
  • 2 level tsp of baking powder
  • 2 level tsp ground mixed spice
  • 4 large eggs
  • 4tbsp milk

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180ºC/160 ºfan/gas 4.
  2. Butter and line the tin with non-stick baking parchment
  3. Measure all the ingredients into a large bowl and beat well for two minutes or until well blended. Turn the mixture into the prepared tin and level the top.
  4. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until the cake has shrunk from the sides of the tin and springs back when pressed in the centre with your fingertips.
  5. Leave to cool in the tin then cut into squares.

Suz x

