Tags

, , ,

DSC_2937

Hi there,

I’ve looked at many recipes for rarebit over the years but I’d never reached a point where I could be bothered to make it. However, after getting through one of the soda breads pretty quickly I was keen to experiment with what else I could do other than toast it or slather it with low cholesterol margarine. And then I had a lightbulb moment and thought why not finally try and make some rarebit as I thought the taste and textures of this bread would complement each other perfectly.

DSC_2909

As we were having this as an evening meal I also decided to include some bacon as I wanted to make sure my husband didn’t go hungry later on and I have to say this is a fairly substantial meal which doesn’t need a lot of ingredients.

DSC_2915

DSC_2919

While cooking the bacon I got started on the rarebit which included 25g butter, 25g plain flour, 100ml strong dark ale, an egg yolk, 150g grated cheddar cheese, 2tsp of Dijon mustard, a pinch of cayenne pepper and a few twists of seasalt and black pepper. Once all the ingredients had been mixed to resemble a thick paste and it had cooled it was time to assemble.

DSC_2923

DSC_2925

DSC_2931

So on some thickly sliced toasted soda bread I added the cooked bacon and then covered everything with the rarebit before placing under the grill until it was golden and bubbling.

DSC_2936

This is a perfect mid-week meal as it doesn’t take long to make and it certainly went down as treat with both myself and the husband and we’ll definitely be having it again in the future. Only next time I might switch the bacon for some Cumberland sausages and also add some sweet plum tomatoes.

There are lots of rarebit recipes online which all have a slight variation but I ended up using a Hairy Bikers recipe.

Suz x

