Tags

, , ,

DSC_2847Hi there,

I finally managed to shake off my cold so I could spend Sunday afternoon in the kitchen. First up was an amazing soda bread which I knew I would make as soon as I saw the recipe. And so with a little help from the husband – him adding and mixing the ingredients and me giving it a quick knead we soon knocked up two perfect loaves together.

DSC_2838

DSC_2839

DSC_2840

DSC_2843

DSC_2844

DSC_2845

DSC_2848

I’m a big fan of Soda bread as it’s quick and easy to make, and the ingredients list is usually cheap and cheerful. This one was a little bit more expensive with the addition of walnuts, blue cheese, sultanas and buttermilk, but it is definitely worth the expense and I would go so far as say this is my all-time favourite soda bread recipe.

DSC_2882

DSC_2909

I have to admit that I would never have put blue cheese or sultanas together as a combination, but the flavours along with the texture of the walnuts works so well together. There is very much a salty, sweet combination going on but it works amazingly well and is something I haven’t been able to get enough of. And if you’re a bit lazy when it comes to making work lunches this is a really quick and easy option as this bread incredibly filling so you only need a couple of slices.

DSC_2855

I’ve been toying with the idea of making a sweet soda bread for a while so after the success of this recipe I’m definitely going to have a go at making some cinnamon and raisin soda bread.

The following recipe makes two medium loaves.

Ingredients:

  • 200g stilton
  • 150g walnuts
  • 100g sultanas
  • 600g plain white flour
  • 400g wholemeal flour
  • 2tsp bicaronate of soda
  • 2tsp salt
  • 800ml buttermilk

Method:

  1. Heat the oven to 200C/180C fan/gas 6.
  2. Trim the rind off the stilton, then crumble into a bowl. Add the walnuts and sultanas and mix well.
  3. Tip all the flour into a large mixing bowl and add the bicarb of soda and salt. Mix thoroughly. Make a well in the centre and pour in the buttermilk.
  4. Working quickly add the cheese mixture and using either your hand or a wooden spoon mix the ingredients together to make a slightly soft, shaggy-looking dough.
  5. If the mixture feels dry or the dough is difficult to bring together add more buttermilk 1tbsp at a time.
  6. Lightly dust the worktop with wholemeal flour and turn out the dough.
  7. Divide into 2 equal portions.
  8. Gently knead one portion for a few seconds to form a ball.
  9. Set on a baking sheet lined with baking parchment and cut a deep cross into the ball. Sprinkle with flour. Repeat with the rest of the dough.
  10. Bake the loaves in a heated oven for 30-35 minutes or until they are golden brown and sound hollow when tapped on the underside.
  11. Check after 25 minutes and rotate the baking sheets if necessary so they bake evenly.
  12. Transfer to a wire rack and leave to cool.

Suz x

