Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

DSC_2782

Hi there,

Well it’s that time of the month again so without further rambling let’s get stuck into what I’ve been enjoying in the month of September.

DSC_2784

Skincare:My love affair with Origins continues and after using two samples of the Original Skin Renewal Serum with Willowherb and then trying to get hold of a third I realized that it was probably a sign that I needed to buy the full size. However, at £32 the price was putting me off but luckily I managed to get find a 25% discount code so it made the price a bit easier to swallow.

I’m really enjoying using this and amongst other things I really like the texture and the smell, as well as how quick it sinks into the skin. This serum has definitely improved the appearance of my skin and it has reduced a lot of the redness while making my skin really soft. I was hoping it would lighten some of my blemish scars, but no luck with that so far. I can see this being a regular in my skin routine.

DSC_2769

I’ve also been using a deluxe sample size of the GinZing Energy-boosting moisturiser which was part of a set I bought a few months back. I was expecting to hate this moisturizer as I’ve never used a brightening moisturizer before but it’s completely different to what I expected. This moisturizer is a lovely and light, and sinks into the skin without leaving it feeling greasy or heavy.

I wouldn’t say this left my skin glowing or majorly refreshed, but I have been enjoying this each morning as it smells lovely and it’s just an easy moisturizer to get on with. Again, I would have been thrilled had this reduced the appearance of my blemish scars but I guess you can’t have everything and I’ll settle for enjoying it as a light daytime moisturizer. I’m not sure if I’d buy a full size, but I’d definitely buy a deluxe sample size again.

DSC_2503

SPF 30 Primer from Flint+Flint is relatively new brand which I’d heard of but never used so as they are fairly local to me I thought it was only right that I support a local company and register for their newsletter. And so within a matter of days they’d hooked me people with an email offering me 50% off their products. The bargain hunter in me couldn’t resist and so when I was next in town I ended up picking up the SPF 30 primer for £12.50.

DSC_2506

I’ve been using this for the last couple of weeks and I’m really enjoying it. I like the texture of this primer which different to anything I’d tried before as it’s a thick white cream which melts into the skin without leaving it feeling greasy. I like the fact that this is a dual product and can be used as matte primer as well and I’ve noticed that it does a great job of keeping me matte, especially when I use my Becca foundation on its own. This would have previously been unthinkable as it normally leaves me looking like an oil slick after a few hours. Also I’ve had no break outs so that’s a bonus.

DSC_2767

Hair and body: Last month saw me run out of my Aussie leave-in conditioner which I like to spritz on after I’ve been to the gym. So while looking for a replacement I came across this Dove Nourishing Oil Care Leave in Conditioner and Care Spray and you know how I feel about oil based products… well at £3.49 this was an absolute bargain and so I couldn’t resist giving it a go. This spray smells absolutely gorgeous and I like that it’s a fine mist rather than a full on spray. I don’t think it’s as good as the Aussie version as my hair doesn’t seem to shine or look as healthy when I’ve used this, but at that price you can’t expect it to be amazing. However, I’m still enjoying it and planning to pick up another one for home as again this is a dual product which can be used to refresh dry hair.

I’m also still totally in love with this Dove body oil I mentioned in last favourites post. I use this a couple of times a week and I’m still amazed at how well this lasts as it hardly seems to go down. I can’t think of a bad thing to say about it and I will definitely be re-purchasing it once I do manage to finish it. It would be nice to see this oil available in different scents so I hope they release more in the future.

DSC_2774

Burberry is really killing it and me at the moment as I’m fast becoming obsessed with this brand, which could be bad news for me and my blog as a. it’s more expensive than most other products and b. my blog could become slightly boring if I was to constantly feature Burberry products, not to mention the fact that people would think my blog was sponsored by Burberry – although I’d quite happily accept copious amounts of Burberry make up if it meant I didn’t have to keep buying it!

DSC_2399

Make up: I’ve never had much luck when it comes to filling in my brows. This is mainly down to the fact that I never felt like I was using the right colour. In the past I have used an Inglot powder in ebony, which is too dark and Benefit’s Brow Zings in Dark Brunette, which I find too brown and warm toned for my black eyebrows. So after months of struggling to colour match myself with either the Anastastia Brow Wiz or Dipbrow Pomade I gave up as there were at least three colours to choose from.

DSC_2404

But then Burberry released their Effortless Eyebrow Definer and I released that Ash brown might be just the colour I’d been looking for! Luckily it wasn’t long before my next visit to Manchester so I was able to pop into the Burberry shop to confirm that Ash Brown was indeed a perfect match.

DSC_2779

I love everything about this eyebrow pencil and it’s aptly named when they say it’s effortless because it’s really quick and easy to use. My biggest concern is sparse brows so this is great at building up the shape either end of my brows without it looking too heavy or false. Lasting power is great so I don’t need to worry that it will smudge or fade throughout the day. I think this will be up there in my 2015 favourites!

DSC_2776

I’ve already done a blog post dedicated to my Burberry eyeshadow in Midnight Brown so I won’t ramble on too much except to say that I completely love this eyeshadow. It is definitely the best brown eyeshadow I own and will probably ever own as it’s such a complex colour, which can be worn on its own as well as layered to give you a more dramatic look. Full points need to go to Burberry for creating such a quality product which has amazing pigmentation, soft buttery texture and great staying power.

What have you been loving this month.

Suz x

*As usual in the interests of transparency all products were bought by myself and all opinions are my own.

