Tags

, ,

DSC_2637

Hi there,

I’m a big fan of healthy snack bars, but as I’ve been making my low carb energy balls for the last six or seven months I’ve started to get a bit tired of the same old recipe. Therefore, I decided it was about time I experimented with some new flavours and textures.

DSC_2640

I’ve noticed that with a lot of other energy ball recipes majool dates, cacoa nibs and date or agave syrup seem to be the ingredients of choice. However, majool dates and cacoa nibs are seriously expensive and they’re not always available in your local supermarket.

DSC_2641

So with this in mind I decided to change the original recipe only slightly so while I compromised on the sugar content the price point was at least reasonable.

DSC_2645

I did get slightly carried away with the recipe and decided to throw things in without really taking note of the weight so the following recipe may not be completely accurate. However, if you’d prefer to follow the original recipe and adapt the ingredients you won’t go far wrong.

DSC_2683

Ingredients:

  • 85-100g dates (bought for 39p instead of £2.15!)
  • 100g mixed nuts (I used cashews, almonds, hazelnuts and walnuts)
  • 25 -30g glace cherries
  • 1tbsp set honey
  • 1tbsp smooth Whole Earth peanut butter (sugar content is less than 5g per 100 grams, but you could use any peanut butter if you weren’t bothered by the sugar content)
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1tsp chia seeds

Method:

The method is exactly the same as the original recipe. The only difference is that instead of rolling the mixture into balls and covering with coconut I pressed the mixture into a lined brownie tin to create bars.

DSC_2682

DSC_2686

I really enjoyed the texture of these bars as they were really moist and full of flavour. Also when compared with the original recipe they held up much better in bar form than my previous attempts with raisins. Taste wise these were absolutely gorgeous and I think they taste better than the original ones. As you can see my bars are fairly thin, but they were still really filling. However, next time I would be tempted to either double the recipe or use a smaller tin so they looked thicker.

DSC_2697

*Tip: These bars also make a great accompaniment to natural yogurt. Most yogurts tend to be loaded with sugar – around 16g per 100g so instead I like to add half of one of these bars alongside some flax seeds, chia seeds and blueberries. This gives the yogurt some much needed texture and also makes it a bit easier to eat as natural yogurt can be quite tart on its own.

DSC_2700

Suz x

