Tags

, ,

DSC_2659

Hi there,

I’m a big fan of fluffy American pancakes but when it comes to making them at home I’m completely hopeless. No matter how hard I try they end up undercooked, overcooked or too dense.

DSC_2660

DSC_2666

DSC_2665

DSC_2671

DSC_2672

However, after three failed attempts using three different recipes I decided to google yet another recipe and by luck I found the perfect recipe and people I have finally cracked my pancake nemesis! This recipe includes two of my favourite things – buttermilk and blueberries and what’s more they turned out light, fluffy and completely edible for once. I was thrilled and although it takes a good 45 minutes to make these it means I might be able to try something other than pancakes when we go out for breakfast from now on as we can have them every Sunday if we choose to.

DSC_2664

That said I did have a few issues with the recipe, but the cooking gods must have been looking down on me yesterday because I was able to adapt the recipe slightly so in the end they turned out plump, but perfectly formed.

DSC_2667

Now that I’ve mastered this recipe I’m tempted to experiment so instead of using blueberries I might try blackberries or raspberries and I may even try a different type of flour. However, switching to coconut, rice, wholemeal or spelt flour maybe one step too far when it comes to making the perfect pancake!

DSC_2670

Notes and tips:

  • As this recipe makes 16 pancakes I halved the recipe to make it more manageable, but I found the mixture to be very dry and more like a dough after adding the wet ingredients. I decided to add more buttermilk until it resembled more of a batter, but it was still pretty thick so I could have got away with adding even more to the mixture. Next time I would add 3 ¼ cups instead of 1 ¼.

DSC_2656

DSC_2655

  • In the recipe it says to use a large spoon equivalent to ¼ cup to measure out the pancake mix. I used a ¼ cup which I filled so it gave me 5 pretty large ones rather than the 8 I was expecting so if you wanted 6-8 cakes then this would need a bit of adjustment.

DSC_2668

  • If like me you don’t want to spend time making the blueberry sauce then a drizzle of maple syrup some fresh blueberries and crème fresh mixed with icing sugar and vanilla bean paste makes a great alternative.

Suz x

