Tags

, , ,

DSC_1935

Hi there,

In homage to Mary Berry and the return of the Great British Bake Off I thought I’d dust off my Mary Berry book and spend part of last Sunday baking. And this time I bypassed the cakes and headed straight over to the biscuit section. I’m not a big fan of biscuits normally so I thought it would make a nice change to do something completely different.DSC_1914 DSC_1916Seeing as it was almost three o’ clock before I started I decided to choose one of the easiest and less time consuming recipes that I could find and they don’t come simpler than these Fork Biscuits DSC_1917

DSC_1918I decided to go down the citrus route and add some lemon zest alongside the other ingredients as I had a few lying around which needed using up. So as soon as all the ingredients were weighed and mixed together it was time for them to go in the oven for 15 minutes. DSC_1919If you have a fan oven like me, which has a tendency to get too hot, it’s worth checking them after 13-14 minutes as mine caught slightly around the edges. So although they were a little darker than I’d hoped they still tasted absolutely beautiful especially with the addition of the lemon, which gave them a really fresh zing. The texture was light and crumbly and I would liken them to shortbread so all in all I was really happy with them. DSC_1920If you are looking for something which is quick and easy as well as cheap to make then these are the biscuits for you. What I also like about this recipe is flexibility of the flavours as you could easily change the recipe to suit your favourite flavor combination. For example, plain, vanilla, lime, orange or even chocolate. I will definitely be making these again as I want to try a chocolate orange version as well as a lemon and lime one.

DSC_1957

Ingredients:

  • 100g softened butter
  • 50g caster sugar
  • 150g self-raising flour
  • Zest of one lemon (optional)

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180ºC/160ºC fan/gas 4.
  2. Lightly butter the baking trays
  3. Measure the butter into a bowl and beat to soften.
  4. Gradually add the sugar and then the flour.
  5. Bring the mixture together with your hands to form a dough.
  6. Break up into 16 balls (or 15 in my case) about the size of a walnut.
  7. Place on a tray spaced well apart.
  8. Dip a fork in a little water and then flatten the biscuits
  9. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until a pale golden colour.
  10. Move to a wire rack to cool completely.

Suz x

