Tags

, , , ,

DSC_1436Hi there,

I always remember trying avocado for the first time when we visited Greece in my early twenties and absolutely hating the taste and texture and I couldn’t work out why it was so popular. However, since I started my diet earlier this year I’ve completely changed my opinion. All that was needed on my part was a bit of know-how and some seasoning to turn a plain avocado into something special.IMG-20150628-WA0004I like to buy ready to eat avocados and then you don’t need to wait for them to soften. And then I just simply mash them up before adding lime juice, chilli flakes, and salt and pepper. Once you have this mix you can either pile it on some nice crackers topped with a sweet, juicy plum or cherry tomato or if you’re looking for something more filling you can slather it on some wholemeal nan bread, flatbread or wholemeal wraps, alongside some red pepper, tomato, cucumber, onion and grilled or frozen (if that’s all you have) chicken.

DSC_1427

DSC_1429I‘ve also recently come across a recipe for some avocado pesto, and as pesto is one of my favorite things I couldn’t resist giving it a go. You don’t need too many ingredients and it only takes a few minutes to make – just don’t add too much lemon juice as it can be a bit overpowering!DSC_1433

DSC_1435Once I’d made the pesto I used it to coat some low carb wholemeal nests I had in the cupboard (but any type of pasta will work just as well) and it was the perfect lunch.

DSC_1541

DSC_1543

DSC_1545

I also steamed some carrot ribbons to use alongside the pesto. However, I’d recommend having this with either salmon or chicken otherwise you’ll still be hungry afterwards.

What are your favourite avocado recipes?

Suz

