DSC_1069Hi there,

One of my favourite cakes to make and eat is an old Rachel Allen sticky toffee pudding cake, which I usually serve with some homemade toffee sauce. However, making toffee sauce is not one of my favourite past times so I decided to experiment and give the recipe a new lease of life by turning it into a layer cake filled with indulgent caramel and topped with a generous serving of toffee buttercream.

DSC_1047

DSC_1048

And if that isn’t enough calories for you I then sprinkled on a few white chocolate stars. I admit that while caramel, toffee buttercream and white chocolate are not great for the waistline there are enough dates in the cake to count as 1 of your 5 a day so in my eyes it could be classed as ‘relatively healthy’!

DSC_1060

DSC_1061

DSC_1066

This is a really indulgent cake which looks and tastes great and it doesn’t take too long to make. I think it’s perfect for special occasions or as a weekend treat to share with family and friends. Or if you’re anything like me you don’t need an excuse to experiment with your favourite cake recipes.

DSC_1067

The Husband got to taste test two cakes that day!

Suz x

 

