Tags

, ,

DSC_0991

Hi there,

I’m always on the lookout for a good chocolate cake and with my annual charity bake just weeks away I have been trying to decide which cake to make alongside my ginger and lime cake. So rather than choosing a cake straightaway I thought it would be fun to road test a few different recipes so my friends and family could help me choose.

DSC_0976

Don’t think of the calories fellow cake lovers!

DSC_0977

DSC_0981

DSC_0982

The first cake up for consideration was this chocolate biscuit cake with figs and pistachios, which is just a slightly posher version of a refrigerator cake. This is definitely not a cake for those of you who are watching your weight, but there is something very comforting about this type of cake. This is a really quick and easy cake to make as it’s basically melt, crush and mix, but I also like the fact that you could mix and match the ingredients if you don’t like figs or pistachios. If you’re more of a cherry and almond type of person I think this would work equally as well.DSC_0983

DSC_0984

DSC_0985

Once the cake is set one thing to bear in mind is how much chocolate you need to cover the cake. I think you could get away with using slightly less than the recipe stated as I had a little bit left over even after multiple coats and drizzling. That said I didn’t cover the bottom of my cake so you could probably use the excess here. It also needs quite a bit of time in the fridge to make sure it completely sets.DSC_0987

DSC_0989

As you may know by now I’m a sucker for chocolate, but as I’m still on a diet I limited myself to just one small piece so I could test whether it was a worthy contender. However, as much as I liked the cake I don’t think it’s good enough to make it to the charity event. My biggest concern is the chocolate melting on the day and I think this is more of a cuddle up of the sofa with a brew kind of cake rather than a ‘wow I need to buy a piece of that cake’. DSC_0990

If you fancy giving this one a go you can find the recipe here.

DSC_0996

DSC_0995

DSC_1007

This weekend I have made two more cakes so a new blog post for them will be coming soon.

Suz x

