Tags

, , , ,

DSC_0797

Hi there,

I’m back today with another baking post but I have some exciting beauty posts lined up later this month!

I’m a big fan of bagels and have recently got into the habit of having a cinnamon and raisin bagel topped with a tsp of organic almond butter and a cup of Americano every morning and on the odd occasion we may stretch to some smoked salmon and cream cheese on a multi-seeded bagel. But incredibly I’ve never attempted to make my own bagels instead I usually take the easy route and buy them from the local supermarket.

However, after making my brioche buns a couple of weekend’s back I was still in a baking mood so I decided to find a recipe and give it a go. I managed to find the perfect recipe on the Daily Mail website and luckily for me I had all the ingredients to hand so I decided to make them straight away. DSC_0743

DSC_0749

Like most bread recipes this follows the same pattern in that you mix all the ingredients, knead the dough for a good 8-10 minutes before leaving it in a warm place to double in size. Once the dough has risen it then needs the air knocked back before being split into eight balls. And once you reach this point the fun can really start.

DSC_0757

DSC_0774

DSC_0775

All I’ll say is that if you suffer with stress then making bagels is the perfect stress relief as it is so much fun creating the holes and shaping them to form the standard bagel shape. I used my finger to create the hole before spinning it around to make it bigger… and I’m not ashamed to admit there was some additional stretching going on. Although I was just making sure the holes didn’t close up while they were proving for a second time!

DSC_0787

DSC_0789

After the bagels had grown bigger it was time to boil them for 30 seconds each side before brushing them with an egg wash and putting them into the oven.

DSC_0875

DSC_0873

After 20 minutes of baking we then had eight beautiful golden bagels we could tuck in to. My only mistake was toasting them straight away and adding peanut butter. These tasted so much better split open and spread with just butter as they are so fresh and of course chewy.

DSC_0807

DSC_0803

I used half white and half wholemeal flour for the first batch I made, but I switched to wholemeal flour the second time and I think they tasted much better. However, next time I might try spelt flour and a new flavor combination as I like the thought of orange and cranberry or dried strawberries and blueberries.  They may not be the biggest bagels in the world but they’re definitely worth the effort.

Suz x

