Tags

, , ,

DSC_0693 DSC_0694    DSC_0691Hi there,

I’ve been lusting after the Nude Blush Burberry palette for months but when it came to it I could never bring myself to part with £40 for four eyeshadows. Yes the packaging was nice and yes the colours swatched beautifully, but there was always something that held me back. However, when I saw that Feel Unique, somewhere I’ve never shopped before, had started selling Burberry make up and that I could get 15% off I was sold and immediately hit the buy button.

DSC_0686

DSC_0687

My package arrived a few days later and I couldn’t wait to get stuck in and experiment. However, I’ve used this palette a few times and too be honest I was expecting big things considering how much I paid for it and how much I desperately wanted it. There’s no denying that this is a beautiful palette, but there’s something about it that just doesn’t excite me. I think the main problem is that the colours are too under the radar for me. I like my eyeshadow to wow me with their intensity and to pop on the eye, but these shadows are more refined and subtle and so I think I will quickly become bored with them, which is a shame.

DSC_0692

I find the shadows work better over my MAC Paint Pot in Painterly as they go on much smoother and easier and they last all day with no creasing or fading, but the shadows do kick up a bit of powder which annoyed me as it messed up the packaging. With my Zoeva palette I haven’t taken as much care as I normally would, but as I’ve paid a bit more for this one I want to keep it looking nice.

DSC_0702

DSC_0689

I also find the velvet pouch annoying as it’s quite a snug fit so it’s a pain trying to coax the palette out each time I use it, plus I’m surprised with how cheap it feels. I have kept the pouch on my Kevyn Aucoin Tropical Days bronzer and it feels much more luxurious. The brushes are nice and soft, but I don’t think I will get much use out of them, especially the sponge applicator, which I hate to see included.

DSC_0707

Although I like the colours in this palette I don’t love them and I could have sworn that they seemed more vivid when I originally swatched them in store. I would still be tempted to get a couple of singles like Pale Barley and Midnight Brown, but I doubt I will buy another palette as I don’t think it’s worth splurging on.

DSC_0704

I try not to post too many negative reviews on my blog, but if you’re looking for a cool eyeshadow palette save your money for either Zoeva, it Cosmetics or Makeup Geek as you’ll get more for your money and more of a wow factor. That said, I will still try to make this one work and you never know I may come to love it over the next couple of months!

Suz x

