Tags

, ,

DSC_0311Hi there,

Happy Easter… I hope you’re all enjoying the long weekend.

I wasn’t planning to make a cake over the Easter weekend as I’ve been trying to lose weight. I have banned carbs and sugar from my diet and have managed to lose 7lb in four weeks. The husband has been showing his support by happily eating biscuits, chocolate and cake in front of me and even he is surprised that I’ve not fallen off the wagon yet as willpower and discipline is not something I’m known for, especially when it comes to cake!

DSC_0293

This weekend the husband decided to make himself an orange and coriander cake, but disaster struck and for whatever reason the cake didn’t turn out. I’ve been down that road where you pour lots of love into a cake only for it not to work out and it’s pretty gutting. So after seeing his face fall I took pity on him and decided to whip up a surprise cake.

DSC_0296

I chose to make some Welsh Gingerbread even though I didn’t have any ginger, the right size tin or the right sugar but hey, when has having all the right ingredients ever stopped me? I must admit to being slightly apprehensive about how this cake would turn out as at the last minute I decided to chuck in some cinnamon to replace the ginger and I used dark brown sugar instead of demerara sugar.

DSC_0297

However the cake gods must have been smiling on me that day because my husband said the cake was perfect and that he really enjoyed it, especially the addition of the mixed peel which added a lovely citrus/orange taste. And funnily enough the cake still tasted of ginger even though I didn’t add any so it looks like the treacle did its job after all.

DSC_0305

I took this recipe from the latest Paul Hollywood British Baking book so I’m not sure if it’s online. However if you fancy giving it a go I have included the recipe and method below.

Ingredients:

  • 350g self-raising flour
  • 3tsp ground ginger
  • 100 unsalted butter
  • 150g demerara sugar
  • 50g mixed candied peel
  • 50g black treacle
  • 80g honey
  • 150ml milk

Method:

  1. Heat the oven to 170C/Gas 3 and line a 27x20cm tin (I used 29×20 and used tin foil and baking beads to reduce the size).
  2. Sift the flour into a large bowl with the ginger.
  3. Add the butter and rub until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs.
  4. Stir in the mixed peel and sugar.
  5. Put the treacle, honey and milk into a saucepan and heat gently, stirring until the treacle and honey have melted into the milk. Pour into the dry ingredients and mix.
  6. Once completely mixed pour into the tin and bake for 30-40 minutes, until a skewer comes out clean.
  7. Leave to cool then cut into squares. The gingerbread will mature and become stickier with keeping.

Suz x

