Tags

, , ,

Cooked beans

Hi there,

As I mentioned in my previous post I’m currently on a diet so all the things that I love – chocolate, cake, jelly beans, crisps, chips and cheese are off the menu for the foreseeable future! However, I have no plans to stop baking it just means that I won’t be able to tell you what the cakes taste like. But alongside all the bakes there will be a few cheeky low fat posts as I have been very busy trying out lots of new recipes to replace all the stuff I can’t eat.

The spices I used

The spices I used

I’ve been trying to cut all snacks out of my diet, but I find that weekends can be a struggle so these roasted soya beans seemed like the perfect alternative. Luckily for me I love soya beans so I was looking forward to covering them in all sorts of spices before baking them in the oven. And yes, I didn’t use the same spices as the recipe. I just used what I had in!

Soya beans

spicy beans

Uncooked beans

Now I’ll admit these probably look horrendous to everyone else, but they taste amazing and are very morerish especially when they’re still warm. The only downside is the texture as I expected them to be crunchy like peanuts. However, they remained slightly soft and unfortunately the texture didn’t improve once they’d cooled down either so if you decide to make them make sure you eat them while they’re still warm.

Baked beans

This recipe can be found in the ‘Eat your way to lower Cholesterol’ book. The recipe makes 8 portions/servings, but on this occasion I halved it just in case I didn’t like the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 200g frozen soya beans
  • 2tsp olive oil
  • ½tsp chilli powder
  • ½tsp dried basil
  • ¼tsp onion powder
  • ¼tsp ground cumin
  • Pinch paprika
  • Pinch freshly ground pepper
  • 4tbsp mixed seeds

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 190C/Gas mark 5.
  2. Place the soya beans in a mixing bowl and drizzle over the olive oil.
  3. Add the spices and mix everything together so the beans are well covered.
  4. Spread them out on a baking tray and bake for 12-15 minutes, turning over once. halfway through cooking.
  5. Remove from the oven and allow to cool before adding the mixed seeds.

Suz x

